Fordmods Logo

Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 138

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: '96 EL Ford Fairmonth Ghia.

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Would anyone be able to tell me what the pros and cons are of getting one's Cam grinded please as I'm thinking of getting it done as I've been informed that it helps the performance of the engine. Thanks kindly.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

i wouldnt touch them my self, you need to add an extra shim to the lifters, and if you dont get it right, could end up horribly wrong, me personally would go for a forged cam, but if you do go for one you will most likely need a chip and tune which is about 1200 to 1500 mark depending where you go, forged cames are about 400 buck marks

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

frd906n wrote:
i wouldnt touch them my self, you need to add an extra shim to the lifters, and if you dont get it right, could end up horribly wrong, me personally would go for a forged cam, but if you do go for one you will most likely need a chip and tune which is about 1200 to 1500 mark depending where you go, forged cames are about 400 buck marks


f**k. Why speak when you dont know s**t?
Regrind cams are fine, you just cant go to big with them. If you get one from Wade you simply add an extra shim in the arms, not hard :roll: .
BILLET, not forged, dont necessarily mean you need a tune either :roll: Thats entirely dependant on the specs of the cam.
J3 chips and a tune are less than 1200.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

frd906n wrote:
i wouldnt touch them my self, you need to add an extra shim to the lifters, and if you dont get it right, could end up horribly wrong, me personally would go for a forged cam, but if you do go for one you will most likely need a chip and tune which is about 1200 to 1500 mark depending where you go, forged cames are about 400 buck marks


They also need a crank that has had 10 grand spent on it too to be effective........... :roll:

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

yep with a 10 0000 dollar cam as well

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

regrind cams are fine, as Krisisdog said, you just cant go to big. ford906n what cam do you have in yours?. Also with the AU's you will need a flash tune as the ECU's don't like cam changes.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 69

Joined: 7th Apr 2009

Ride: FG F6 310

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

with the flash tune, can it be just a generic tune or would i have to take it to a dyno?
(i already have the flash tuner).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

scud wrote:
with the flash tune, can it be just a generic tune or would i have to take it to a dyno?
(i already have the flash tuner).


I would put it on the dyno, what flash tuner do you have? Dynomotive will probably be able to tune it for you.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 69

Joined: 7th Apr 2009

Ride: FG F6 310

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

SCT live wire?? the one with the display...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

ok cool, I would give Dynomotive a call there just in Bayswater. It would be something like $400ish to tune your car i would think.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:18 pm 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

GeZza200 wrote:
ok cool, I would give Dynomotive a call there just in Bayswater. It would be something like $400ish to tune your car i would think.


this is Teknoslashers thread guys talk in PM
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

SV-Valiant wrote:
GeZza200 wrote:
ok cool, I would give Dynomotive a call there just in Bayswater. It would be something like $400ish to tune your car i would think.


this is Teknoslashers thread guys talk in PM


haha oops i automatically thought he was the OP

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

SV-Valiant wrote:
GeZza200 wrote:
ok cool, I would give Dynomotive a call there just in Bayswater. It would be something like $400ish to tune your car i would think.


this is Teknoslashers thread guys talk in PM


Why? Its still relevant.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Having an Inline 6 AU's Cam Grinded.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:59 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
SV-Valiant wrote:
GeZza200 wrote:
ok cool, I would give Dynomotive a call there just in Bayswater. It would be something like $400ish to tune your car i would think.


this is Teknoslashers thread guys talk in PM


Why? Its still relevant.


+1...it may have been thread hi jacked, but it was still relevant to OP.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names