Fordmods Logo

Headunit Removal, Car Won't Start 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Headunit Removal, Car Won't Start
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 92

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi guys, first post here I'm hoping you can help me out.

Just bought a 1993 Ford ED Fairmont and it drives very well, nothing wrong.
I removed the headunit this afternoon and didn't have time to put the new one in. Afterwards I tried to start the car but it didnt go.
The car turns over, my mate and I reckon fuel is flowing and everything but there may be a short circuit somewhere along the way.

Has anyone had this problem before? Do you know what might be causing this?
Thanks, Ryan

 

_________________

Racing an import is like competing in the special olympics.....even if you do win, you're still retarded.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 411

Joined: 21st Aug 2006

Ride: EL XR6, Blueprint, Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check all the fuses, theres most likely a 10amp fuse blown, i think its the 2nd or 3rd to the right up top.
think it says something like ctl lmp or something like that.
does the dash cluster turn on and interior lights if they dont thats what it will be.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.myspace.com/luke_xr
230rwkw - 10psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 411

Joined: 21st Aug 2006

Ride: EL XR6, Blueprint, Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

didnt read your cars a different model to mine, still check fuses but

 

_________________

Image
http://www.myspace.com/luke_xr
230rwkw - 10psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:13 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 92

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

All the interior lights come on, dash lights up, headlights work.

The SMART LOCK sign that is supposed to flash on the dash is not flashing, my friend thinks it may be the immobiliser which I'll try resetting tomorrow.

 

_________________

Racing an import is like competing in the special olympics.....even if you do win, you're still retarded.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:33 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

The stereo is part of the smartlock system.

Did you make sure all the old / unused wires were properly insulated. Then check the CRT LAMP fuse.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

u cut the wires to far back...check where u cut and rejoin the one going to smartlock...

its happended before, there is an old post on here about it

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 92

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks heaps guys, gogetta, I got an auto electrician to come and have a look at it.

After a few failed attempts I suggested the wires. When the orange/green wires were joined up the car started. They must have been the smart lock wires.

Thanks again,
Ryan

 

_________________

Racing an import is like competing in the special olympics.....even if you do win, you're still retarded.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

CRT_LMP Fuse blown...

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Stupid isnt it how those wires are joined at the radio connector. Cut the old wires out and your car doesnt go.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names