Fordmods Logo

Help Head Lights dont work! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Help Head Lights dont work!
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

I have an ED XR6 when i turn the headlights on they dont turn on
but when i put my high beams on the go on wat is the problem?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Might be the low beam relay, or possibly the high beam switch contacts

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

how hard is that to fix? can i do it my self? or should i get it checked out?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Its a fairly easy fix. Just pull the relay out and relpace it with another and see if they work. I'm not 100% sure on where the relay is located but? Another option may be the circuit breaker, but i'm only guessing?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

ok i have a manual will thet tell me where it is? and a relay is not a fuse is it? cause i checked em all and they are all good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1534

Joined: 16th Aug 2005

Ride: 03 BA XR6

Location: Cranbourne VIC
VIC, Australia

first thing i'd check is the fuses, then the globes, then the relays, then the actual headlight switch, then check for loose or decayed wiring, then i'd be going over the f**k from battery to switch to headlight globes with a multimeter

 

_________________

2003 BA Ford Falcon XR6 | BF Typhoon Intake + K&N Filter | Lukey 2.5" catback zorst | More mods coming soon....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:21 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The relays are next to your battery. The first one is the horn relay (the yellow one closest to the headlight), then the lo and high beams after that, I forgot which order, and then the starter relay.

Get a freind to check which one clicks when you turn on the high beams (put your finger on it), and swap it over with the one next to it.

Check to see if the headlights work, but the high beams not. If this is the case, the relay is fried. If the high beams are still not working, then check the contacts in the combination switch (on the steering column), or the wiring... this is a bit more difficult to trace, none the less, not that difficult.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

ok thank you how hard or where do u get a new relay from?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Take the old relay to spare parts store..Repco etc..NOT Ford unless you have plenty $$$...Should be around $10-$15...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:39 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

or you go to the wreckers and see if you can set an all time record of amount of relays fitting in pocket.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hahah lol at justfordima, we did that with fuses, got out with about 100 fuses!
the relays aren't that dear, $15 at max.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

x3ros wrote:
loose or decayed wiring


I had this exact same problem with my EF a while back. The park lights would work, the high beam would work but every so often the low beam simply refused to work until you switched the high beam on (you couldn't just flash the high beam, you had to turn it on and then turn it off). I originally thought it was the relay but replacing it did no good. Turns out a loose wire somewhere in the system (I never did find out exactly which one and where) was causing all the trouble. The auto sparky pushed it back in and it's been fine ever since.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ef headlights
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:27 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 11th Feb 2006

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

i had problems with my ef fairmont headlights. identical problem. dont trust all of what you hear from the so called experts at spare parts shops. one guy sold me two new globes ($37) i asked him what are the chances of both globes going at the same time? quite common he said, even pulled out the globe and showed me the fault, yeah right! replaced globe, still no lights. next he listened for the relay to kick and said no worries the relays working. yeah right, spent a couple hours trying to find low beam relay and sort which one, went down to repco spent $9.90 and now i can see what i'm about to hit. one guy told me to use a test globe to see if there was power. new globes no light i'd be tipping no power sherlock. so sometimes it pays to do a process of elimination starting at the cheapest and most practical, well thats my opinion any way. ps opinions are like a**hole, everybodys got one. good luck.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:24 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names