Fordmods Logo

Help Me anyone? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Help Me anyone?
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

alright guy i have just changer the speed sensor and the nylon gear that goes on the end of it, but my speedo still doesnt work? wat is the problem? is it possible that the inside of the speedo has shat itslef? my car is still in limp/home mode, if the speedo is broken wat do i do to fix it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 744

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Fix the transmission.

 

_________________

I post here cos the russian tank driver doesn't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

the tranmision is fine, i am guessing that it is in limp mode as there is no speed to send to the ECU for it to choose the right gear, i want to now how to fix the speedo!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:50 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it would be the DRIVE gear in the extension housing

this gear drives the spedo gear obviously

remove tail shaft

4 bolts hold the extension housing on, u may need to lower the tranny a bit by undoing the trans crossmeber bolts a fraction

remove the extension housing and replace the gear and while the housing is off replace teh extension housing seal

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

are you talking about the little nylon gear that is on the speedo sensor in the housing? cause if you are i have changed it, it was a prick to do, it is a 22teeth one, along with a new speed sensor, but still the speedo does not work? i was thinking it might be a sensor of some kind up near the actual speedo? or the speedo needle has s**t itself all of a sudden?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

anyone got any solutions?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

know anyone else with a cluster you can test?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:51 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

even if the speedo needle was borked it wouldn't matter.

Looks like either your cluster (the electronics of it) is f**k.

Or as already said the gear that drives teh speedo gear is f**k.

Or someo fthe wiring inbetween the speedo sender and the cluster.

Easiest test at this point is to find another cluster swap and see if that works.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 12

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Another thought - check that the sensor is actually sending a pulse - I had one die in an XD many years ago.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

i dont see why it should of died as it is a brand new one as of not even 24 hours ago. wat are the chances of the cluster s**t itself? the odomato is not working either but that happened like a year ago.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:06 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

danbode wrote:
wat are the chances of the cluster s**t itself? the odomato is not working either but that happened like a year ago.


Read that again.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:06 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

danbode wrote:
wat are the chances of the cluster s**t itself? the odomato is not working either but that happened like a year ago.


Read that again. :?

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

so wat would you say the cluster or the drive gear? if so how much are they to replace?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:45 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

As I see you have three things possibly wrong, the least likely is the wiring. The other two can be tested if you can swap them with ones from a known working car.

Find a friend with an EF/EL and swap parts for testing, find what's broke then visit Fraud spares or a wrecker to get a replacment.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 45

Joined: 15th Oct 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Palmerston North
New Zealand

I'd think it was the cluster but since i dont know much about the later e series i wouldnt really know. This may be a stupid question but does the cluster (im thinking its electronic) have a fuse of any sort or somthing stupid like that?

 

_________________

I caught you a delicious bass

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: johnnyeHCF and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names