Fordmods Logo

Help needed AU2 I6 into XB 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th May 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi,
I'm looking to run a AU2 donk into my 74 XB Falc. I am looking to use an EL ECU with this, I cannot find the info but does anyone know if this will work? I"ll use a smartlock bypass module, the reason for the AU2 donk is that they are a lot newer and I'll be able to get away with not rebuilding it.
anyhelp will be great, thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi. You will need to install a dizzy into the AU engine, use the inlet manifold, throttle body and wiring loom from an EL. Also use the wiring from the ECU to the engine bay loom and then customise to suit the XB.

The AU throttle body and inlet manifold are not compatible with the EL ECU.

Hope that helps.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th May 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ah, thanks, rather than buying two cars to strip the guts out of would you recommend what set up would be the best using the smartlock system though,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

don shifter wrote:
Ah, thanks, rather than buying two cars to strip the guts out of would you recommend what set up would be the best using the smartlock system though,


I think you mean to use the Factory EL ECU, instead of smartlock system, as that involves the key barrel, BCM and ECU and is a pain in the a**.

Use the EL ECU with the smartlock bypass module, as you mentioned earlier. You will need the wiring harness that goes from the ECU to the engine bay, and the wiring from the EL BBM at a minimum, then customise the rest as needed to work with the XB.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2010

Ride: el wagon

Location: garfield
VIC, Australia

sorry for the hijack,
But benj, i am looking to put the I6 in my xf.
So i am also interstwd to know, does the smartlock bypass also take the bcm and key out of the system?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

gasdea wrote:
So i am also interstwd to know, does the smartlock bypass also take the bcm and key out of the system?


Yes it does.

I have one in my EB1 with an EL ECU. While I still use the EB Ignition Key Barrel, I don't see why not any ignition system will work. All you need to do is supply 12v to the ECU with REDs via a relay, and wire in the bypass module which will allow the ECU to operate.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2010

Ride: el wagon

Location: garfield
VIC, Australia

BenJ wrote:
gasdea wrote:
So i am also interstwd to know, does the smartlock bypass also take the bcm and key out of the system?


Yes it does.

I have one in my EB1 with an EL ECU. While I still use the EB Ignition Key Barrel, I don't see why not any ignition system will work. All you need to do is supply 12v to the ECU with REDs via a relay, and wire in the bypass module which will allow the ECU to operate.

BenJ

Wicked, well im in two minds to have the xf on a button start anyway.
So thanks for the help man, where would i get one ? Like jaycar or something?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

gasdea wrote:
Wicked, well im in two minds to have the xf on a button start anyway.
So thanks for the help man, where would i get one ? Like jaycar or something?


I got my smartlock bypass module from a seller on Ebay

Here is the current listing.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Smartlock-Module-Bypass-Override-Code-generator_W0QQitemZ180475996369QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car_Parts_Accessories?hash=item2a053528d1

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:16 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2010

Ride: el wagon

Location: garfield
VIC, Australia

benj, you are a legend
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th May 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

BenJ wrote:
don shifter wrote:
Ah, thanks, rather than buying two cars to strip the guts out of would you recommend what set up would be the best using the smartlock system though,


I think you mean to use the Factory EL ECU, instead of smartlock system, as that involves the key barrel, BCM and ECU and is a pain in the a**.

Use the EL ECU with the smartlock bypass module, as you mentioned earlier. You will need the wiring harness that goes from the ECU to the engine bay, and the wiring from the EL BBM at a minimum, then customise the rest as needed to work with the XB.

BenJ


sweet, nice one but I mean the smartshield system seems impossible to run stand alone, the fly by wire and smartshield on the BA/BF sound like a real pain to set up. so I have bought a smart lock bypass already hence why I'm staying with anything that was/is smartlock controlled. Well here goes, I can get a complete EF cheap off a mate, CAN I use the EF ECU with the AU2 motor as neither has a dizzy? I will use the inlet manifold, throttle body and wiring loom from the EF.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by don shifter on Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep, using EF wiring and ECU is a great way to get an AU coilpack engine working. Same principal as the EL, but no dizzy.

Good Luck.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help needed AU2 I6 into XB
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:29 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th May 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ah, you rule! thanks mate, but, I'll rack your brain while I can. what's the go with the different types of injector firing, I'm guessing that the better (newer) type won't happen on this setup, as I'll use the EF ECU.
Also is there anything else you can think of that might help with the whole "getting it running"?

thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names