Fordmods Logo

Hi comp 6 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Hi comp 6
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:45 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

I was just wondering how much compretion an AU 6 would be able to handle as some people say 9.9 to 1 but i want to run 10.5 or 11.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:46 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

sorry that should have been compression
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I have seen static CR's of >13, but I am assuming you are going to be running pump fuel.

What cam is going into it? The 'bigger' the cam, the more compression you can/should run.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:30 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

Not sure about cam it all debends on what comp i can run but it should be about a stage 3 or 3.5 it's only going to rev to 6000 or 6500 as i would like some sort of reliability
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Stages dont mean anything - you need to get the cam specs first.

Start by picking the cam you want. You then work out the static compression ratio needed to get a good dynamic compression ratio out of the engine. ACL have a piston that will give you a static CR of 10.2 with a standard head. If you want more, shave the head until you reach your target CR.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

ok thanks i just E-Mailed wade cams to see what they recomend but i might turbocharge the engine but i'm going to research the NA route first
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 227

Joined: 21st Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne: Thornbury
VIC, Australia

Rather than deckinig the head you could run a piston with a flat top crown to up compression.

Skimming the head excessively leaves you nowhere to go if you need a head reco down the track.

AU pistons already have a flatter crown which is *almost* a flat top to start with. No to mention the AU metal head gasket which has a thinner compressed height than a comparable normal gasket.

You need to check these things during the dummy building and blueprinting process. You will need a graduated burette and half a clue to do it at home but its not impossible.

Aaron

 

_________________

EA SVO Fairmont Ghia - Recaros, Bilsteins, Sunroof, SVO rims and body kit, Genie headers, DBA rotors. T5 steeda triax short shifter. 3.27 lsd. (EL 4.0 ported/polished, rebuilt and balanced, Dev5 cam. J3 chipped EL ecu, AU injectors).

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

aaron_hogan wrote:
Rather than deckinig the head you could run a piston with a flat top crown to up compression.

Skimming the head excessively leaves you nowhere to go if you need a head reco down the track.

AU pistons already have a flatter crown which is *almost* a flat top to start with. No to mention the AU metal head gasket which has a thinner compressed height than a comparable normal gasket.

You need to check these things during the dummy building and blueprinting process. You will need a graduated burette and half a clue to do it at home but its not impossible.

Aaron


Those ACL pistons I mentioned are flat tops, so you only have 2 choices for more compression - get some custom made domed pistons or shave the head.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:13 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

i just need some cam specs for my computer so i can get a rough graph of the KW and the torque at the flywheel before i decide to go NA
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:03 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 227

Joined: 21st Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne: Thornbury
VIC, Australia

your computer has a cam?

point taken on flat tops, same same, but seriously there is a thrid option and that is zero decking the block. Not really an option for most people as it does involve considerably more work in the total build.

All these little things add up to a comp increase. Although i'd rather have something that COULD live on a diet of PULP than having to pour in additives all the time.

 

_________________

EA SVO Fairmont Ghia - Recaros, Bilsteins, Sunroof, SVO rims and body kit, Genie headers, DBA rotors. T5 steeda triax short shifter. 3.27 lsd. (EL 4.0 ported/polished, rebuilt and balanced, Dev5 cam. J3 chipped EL ecu, AU injectors).

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:28 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

i have a program on my computer called desktop dyno you imput the specs of the engine you want to build and it gives you a rough idea of flywheel power and torque in a table format and a graph it's really good i've used it on 5 engines we've built and after we've run the car on the dyno and taking in to account driveline lose it's fairly close
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 76

Joined: 6th Feb 2007

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

what size combustion chamber does a standard 6 have because to run 10.5 to 1 i'll need a total combustion chamber size of 71.81cc
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names