Fordmods Logo

How do I reset the ECU after fixing fault? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: How do I reset the ECU after fixing fault?
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: 92 EB Sedan & 73 XA GT Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How do I reset the ECU in my 91 EB after I have replaced the faulty sensors that were giving me grief??

Any help?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Start by reading the FAQ sticky :)

(unplug the battery for 1/2 an hour or so)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Man sticky's are a waste of time, we put them up but nobody reads them.
Everyday there is still an exhaust / extractor question, or the big one.... "Which snorkle" LOL.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I just hope that somebody reads them...

how about giving people who start threads that are answered in a sticky a set of l-plates in their avatar for a week?

Image

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 41

Joined: 26th Jul 2005

Ride: AU Futura

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

NOTE DO NOT TOUCH THE ACCELLERATOR DURING ANY PERIOD OF THE ADAPTIVE PROCESS.
The correct way to set idle speed after battery disconnection is:
1. Run engine until operating temp reached and thermostat opened.
2. The engine should then be idled for approx 1 minute in each of the following conditions (total idling time approx 4 minutes)
3. Neutral with all electrical loads OFF.
4. Neutral with Air conditioning ON.
5 Drive with all electrical loads OFF.
6. Drive with Air conditioning ON.


After all this has been done then proceed to go on and to do these steps which actually set the TPS values;

5. *To set the closed throttle reference position, place the transmission
in Drive, Air con off, and let the engine idle for a minimum of 1 minute.
6. Next, set the wide-open throttle reference position by turning the
engine off- but leave the ignition switch to the "ON," position, ie;Idiot lights on etc, then press the accelerator
pedal to the floor and hold it their for 1 minute, minimum.
7. Then Place the gear selector to Park and switch off the ignition.
8. Drive the vehicle and check for proper shifting patterns.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
I just hope that somebody reads them...

how about giving people who start threads that are answered in a sticky a set of l-plates in their avatar for a week?

Image

LOL i wish we could, then rename the sticky threads to L platers click here!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I reset the ECU after fixing fault?
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

CaptainK79 wrote:
How do I reset the ECU in my 91 EB after I have replaced the faulty sensors that were giving me grief??

Any help?
can you tell me how to run the diagnostic on the ecu or where you got the info, i have been searching for days and i havent found a thing
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I reset the ECU after fixing fault?
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

fastleno wrote:
CaptainK79 wrote:
How do I reset the ECU in my 91 EB after I have replaced the faulty sensors that were giving me grief??

Any help?
can you tell me how to run the diagnostic on the ecu or where you got the info, i have been searching for days and i havent found a thing


:roll:

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=52

scroll down 1/3 page

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names