Fordmods Logo

How to build a Tough I6 Motor 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: How to build a Tough I6 Motor
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Gallery: 12 images

QLD, Australia

Well last weekend i got some mates around and pulled the motor out of my parents old EF series 2 Station wagon. I want to build it up to put in my EF Sedan.

I have striped most of it down, only things left are the crank, pistons and con rods. I've got a very good understanding of how engines work etc. and i am a heavy diesel mechanic (Apprentice). I want to know the process others go through to build a no nonsense tough motor that puts out a bit of power. Money is a bit tight because of the previously mentioned job but i am prepared to pay a bit for a good motor.

The main and big end bearings are craped and i think the crank might need grinding (can you do this). The motor had overheated by the look of it (the bores have a slight discolouration), but i think it may be fixable. If this is the case i will get the block honed (boss at work said something about installing sleeves can this be done and is it going to make a difference). The bearing surface in the head looks like someone has been sanding with 40 grit and i think it needs to be machined (can this be done). I will be putting in a wade cam so i wont be worrying about the old cam. I would like to know what can be done with the head when it comes to valve seats and valves. Can i replace the seats and the valves with new ones and is it just a replacement job or is there grinding etc, involved.

I also want to know everything i have to look for when building the motor .

I was thinking about using a ACL race rebuild kit for the parts and change anything that may be a weakness, i will also be installing a high stall torque converter, exhaust, better flowing intake etc.

So can anyone help ?
Thanks
TriggerHappy.

Post subject: Re: How to build a Tough I6 Motor
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways