Fordmods Logo

how to install a B&M Pro Ratchet Shifter 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: how to install a B&M Pro Ratchet Shifter
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:48 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 3

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1992 EBII

Location: perth
WA, Australia

iv just oreded a B&M Pro Ratchet Shifter for my ebII falcon and wonted to no if any1 had some tip
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Errrr.... It is possible to fit them, but to get them looking like theyre meant to be there is a lot of work. The pro ratchet shifters are for drag style applications with fully manualised gearboxes. Not worth the money on anything less really. But if you insist.

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

i had a mate with one in his ZK, but it was a full manulised C4 and a rather worked 351. Would be a hassle in anything less as you say Andrew

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

It is possible, but theres a few hurdles - the shifter will probably sit too high out of the console, and you will need to make a custom bracket and linkage for the B&M cable to mate with thestd shift linkage on the trans.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

66 coupe wrote:
It is possible, but theres a few hurdles - the shifter will probably sit too high out of the console, and you will need to make a custom bracket and linkage for the B&M cable to mate with thestd shift linkage on the trans.
Are you thinking of a manualised auto?. those pro shifter a more suited to C4 & C6s, plus you gotta get all your measurements right with the links to actually blend in with the original position. otherwise it'll stick out like a sore thumb.
Why not just buy a resistor type shift kit instead or build your own.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

a resistor type s**t kit is a different thing al together.
This is more a comparable option to say fitting a BA sesquential shift to it. Even with teh SS, if you knock it up to 3rd at 10km/h it's not actually gunna go into 3rd gear now is it?

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

it'll work if done right, just that his gonna be spending a lot of time under the car & in the car. plus ripping out the center console to customize the levers/links.
the "question" was, ARE YOU THINKING OF A MANUALISED AUTO!!!. more suited for that type of shifter.
now why would you wanna shift to 3rd at 10 mph. it doesn't work that way.

I stick to res-shif-kit any time. been there before & its not fun to do in a cortina. I don't know about the new cars with all that electronics, it might be a challenge.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

you can still use a resistor shift kit with this. the resistors change the speed of the shift. all this is doing is changing the way you move the gear lever. too different things, not comparable and can be run together.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:16 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

A B&M Shifter will not manualise the box on it's own.
You want to drive in 3rd at 10km/h?
Pull the f**k fuse out.
Has anyone fully manualised a BTR anyway?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

twr7cx wrote:
you can still use a resistor shift kit with this. the resistors change the speed of the shift. all this is doing is changing the way you move the gear lever. too different things, not comparable and can be run together.


I know!
if only my old TE cortina had a S5 solenoid in the C4. hehehe. aftermarket valve body did all the quick, manual hard shifting. hehehe

now, if only I had the time to mount a pro shifter to the AU. it'll go nicely with the potential meter resistor shift kit. :wink:

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names