Fordmods Logo

how to reset the ecu? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: how to reset the ecu?
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

can anyone tell me how to reset the ecu for an ed fairmont, auto?

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 7:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

disconnect the negative battery terminal for a while,,at least half an hour.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

thats what i always thought to do but the other dy someone said somethin about needing to select differnet gears and play with the pedals, because of the auto or something

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 9:57 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nar dc batter and push brake pedal to remove all residual power form inside the ecu

rest for 1/2 hr or so and reconect :)

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 9:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

alright sweet ill do that

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is no real benefit to resetting the ECU, basically all your doing is resetting the KAM (keep alive memory) it will re-learn in about a week of driving so it will be the same as before. The first thing you will notice is the gears change hard as a result in the battery being disconnected so then you will have to perform a throttle calibration.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

im resetting it as a result of my car running extremely rich an with a new oxygen sensor i was told to reset it just so its all starting from scratch sort of thing.

how do you do a throttle calibration?

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 962

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF waggin - gli/XR/ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

No need to worry about any fancy stuff. Just disconnect the battery overnight. I didn't do any fancy stuff with pedals or throttle calibration when mine reset! You may notice a few odd things while the ECU is relearning (eg mine stalled twice), but just ignore it and it will be fine!

 

_________________

Red goes faster, and chicks drive better

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:31 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

adrian` wrote:
how do you do a throttle calibration?


Why do you want to perform this procedure? I've done it on 2 of my EB's in the past and it didnt fix my crappy kickdown performance :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

i dotn reali want to, i just want my car to run right... ill do what ever im told to... right or rong ill look into giving it a shot, so two people dont think i should worrie about doing it?

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:48 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

adrian` wrote:
i dotn reali want to, i just want my car to run right... ill do what ever im told to... right or rong ill look into giving it a shot, so two people dont think i should worrie about doing it?


Unless you have a specific problem, I dont think you'll notice any great improvement :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

yea i got a fuel problem, using average 22.6l/100k's get about 300ish to 350ish k's to a tank

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 11:36 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

adrian` wrote:
yea i got a fuel problem, using average 22.6l/100k's get about 300ish to 350ish k's to a tank



TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCEL PEDAL!!!

:P


nar man change plugs/leads air and fuel filters, dizzy rotor and clean the dizzy cap terminals
also your injectors can be blocked

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

yea i already bought new leads, plugs, dizzy cap, rotor, new k&n ( didnt wanna clean my old one, it was filthy)

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 9:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Every time power is interupted (battery dissconnected) a throttle calibration should be performed.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vicky and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names