Fordmods Logo

I need some answers on running E-series cams in hybrids..... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: I need some answers on running E-series cams in hybrids.....
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I know this has come up heaps but if you have a look through the search every topic says a different thing. I want to put an e-series cam in my hybrid motor, does anyone know how I can go about this? I believe you just need to change the rockers and your eseries cam will go in but is there anyone that has actually done this and it work? Also does it work in reverse for putting a hybrid cam in a nonhybrid motor.

Say I had a standard EL motor and a Hybrid EL motor. If I swapped the cams and rockers on each motor would they both still run fine?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

Give Jim Mock a call he has a cam that will fit straight into the Hybrid engines i think it was around $900 for the whole kit, pretty exspensive i think.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeh I know they are expensive thats why I would prefer to just use an Eseries cam because they are much more readily available and a wider range. If RPD were still in business I may have gotten one from them.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

IMO you cannot put any E-series cam into a hybrid, because the rocker ratios are different . The hybrid is basicaly an AU motor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:18 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 26th Jan 2006

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

creeture3 wrote:
IMO you cannot put any E-series cam into a hybrid, because the rocker ratios are different . The hybrid is basicaly an AU motor.


Hence the reason he asked "If I swap the rocker gear and cam"

The answer is yes both cars will be fine if you swap both cam and rocker gear.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

:oops:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 21st Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I'm running an E-series cam in an AU head. Just had to use E-series rocker gear with AU rocker pedestals.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names