Fordmods Logo

Idle problem with new cam... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Idle problem with new cam...
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:27 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 105

Joined: 11th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have the 2222549 Crow cam installed, cranked her over, and there's a lot of lifter noise, and the car stalls. Mind you, these are words from the mechanic, I haven't actually heard it.

So what is it? Is the cam too big? Or does the computer have to learn the new cam? How capable is the computer of learning it? I'm not sure why all of a sudden so much lifter noise though!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

did a mechanic do it for you?? then ring you up and tell you whats happenening??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I think the only improvement for the crow {2222549} cam is a better headers/exhaust.

Did you install it or the mechanic?

give it time.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:12 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 78

Joined: 26th Apr 2005

Location: London
QLD, Australia

Sounds like what kermy said, the mechanic has installed the cam.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: I think it's too lumpy
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 105

Joined: 11th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah, the mechanic did it. He's good though; knows what he's doing. He's not prepared to hand it back to me the way it's running now.

I think I have to consider the 2222519 which, apparently, has a better idle quality. I should've went this way in the first place I reckon.

I still have a standard exhaust on mine. I think I'll swap the cam, because I would like a smooth idle.

I'll think about it and probably decide tomorrow, together with the mechanic.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

Why does everyone want a smooth idle? A car lumping over at idle gives me a hard on ;) I shouldn't be allowed to drive my car with the stage 3 Alted/RPD cam haha :D

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:39 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Takes a few mins of a/c off then a few mins of a/c on for the ECU to relearn the idle. You/he may also have to adjust the base idle speed to compensate - especially if it stall when you put it in gear.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:40 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah, the lifter noise should go away once some oil gets back in the HLAs. If not, one is f**k or the mechanics reinstalled them with the plastic retainer. Which are s**t and should be removed - they're only there for Ford assembly line workers.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: base idle
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 105

Joined: 11th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How do you adjust the base idle on an EF?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Idle problem with new cam...
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

spvd02 wrote:
I have the 2222549 Crow cam installed, cranked her over, and there's a lot of lifter noise, and the car stalls. Mind you, these are words from the mechanic, I haven't actually heard it.

So what is it? Is the cam too big? Or does the computer have to learn the new cam? How capable is the computer of learning it? I'm not sure why all of a sudden so much lifter noise though!

did you get the one for EA-ED{2222549} .528" .500" lift. improved exhaust only?

OR
EF- EL {2232549} .476" .450" lift. computer re-calibration & improved exhaust?

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: base idle
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

spvd02 wrote:
How do you adjust the base idle on an EF?


There's a screw adjustment on the throttle body.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: base idle
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

spvd02 wrote:
How do you adjust the base idle on an EF?


The {2222549} is for EA- ED.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

ure on to a good point here slick but i would imagine that that ea-ed cam would run alright in an ef. but yeah y would u buy an ea-ed cam for an ef???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have the crow stage 3 and double springs in my EA. still yet to find out how she idles and runs due to ignition problems. will keep you guys posted
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 505

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ford au wagon 4.0 na

Power: 170 rwkw

Location: Merrylands
NSW, Australia

It sounds like the valves are not closing to me.If it is a regrind..your mechanic should have shimmed it better.If it is new then make sure you have installed new springs.That cam has some big lift.

 

_________________

14.77 @92.71mph July 06 14.52@95.68mph July 07 14.241 96.7 MPH in a shoebox/taxi au ford wagon!!Bwahahah still cant believe it!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names