Fordmods Logo

IDLE PROBLEMS... NEED HELP!!! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: IDLE PROBLEMS... NEED HELP!!!
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 3:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey all,

I started to have idle problems after fitting the AUII XR8 Intake Snorkel on my EF Falcon 4.0L 6 (auto).

Every time I turn the car on... it revs up once (as per normal)... then i revs really low (about 400rpm) and feelings like its going to stall... then it quickly revs up once (to about 1k - 1.5k) and then it goes to normal idle (600 - 800rpm) again.... and doesnt happen again.

THIS ALSO HAPPENS ->>> EVERY TIME I:

-Change gear from PARK to REVERSE, and vice versa.

But it wont happen when i change from PARK to DRIVE or NEUTRAL, or vice versa...

****EDIT**** NOW IT HAPPENS... wheneva i change into ANY gear, and when the car is idling in DRIVE (ie: at traffic lights)

I really want to fix this problem, as i DONT ever wanna see my car stall :cry:

****EDIT****

NOW my car is also stalling... :cry:

Any help would be much appreciated, Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Toras on Mon May 23, 2005 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 3:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Have you accidently knocked any vacuum hoses out or disturbed any wiring while fitting the snorkel?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 5:03 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The vacuum hose doesnt happen to be that stupidly annoyin black rubber hose that (now) sits RITE next to the tickford snorkel (on the left hand side).

Do you have any pics of this hose, and could this cause this sort of problem???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 11:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

When u changed your snorkel, did you also reset your ECU? to do this, unplug your battery for around 30 mins then plug it back in and give her heaps for around a tank full and it *SHOULD* go back to normal.

I did this to a 99 AU fairmont yesterday. He was complaining about really really bad fuel economy on it, so i reset the computer and it went from 11.7 on the highway to 8.9. Still not the best but i have given him a nice little list of different things to do 8-) oh and now strangly enough his brake shudder is gone :roll: i wonder why, could it be that he starts slowing down about 1km away before he stops or because he brake around corners? :?

anyway sorry to hi-jack but just try and resseting the computer

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh i forgot, is that black rubber thing you talk of runs on top of the radiator? if it is the one u talking of, it is just a water hose

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Are you running LPG?

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: SNORKEL
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 455

Joined: 6th Feb 2005

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: NEW MACHINE 323i GOES HELL FAST

Power: 169 rwkw

Location: in the middle of peak hour traffic
SA, Australia

disconnect battery :cry:

 

_________________

eb 4.0 falcon & f150 351 & caprice 5.0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah that too :oops:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: LPG Idle
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 2nd Feb 2005

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Apologies if this is a hijack, but I run LPG and i have this problem (it's been present for as long as i've had the car). It seems to be getting worse too, about to get it looked at by my mechanic.

Do you know what the significance of LPG is in relation to this issue, 4.9? Your question suggests that..

Any info appreciated!

edit - just to clarify, i don't have any intake mods.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG Idle
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 107

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Denali wrote:
Apologies if this is a hijack, but I run LPG and i have this problem (it's been present for as long as i've had the car). It seems to be getting worse too, about to get it looked at by my mechanic.

Do you know what the significance of LPG is in relation to this issue, 4.9? Your question suggests that..

Any info appreciated!

edit - just to clarify, i don't have any intake mods.


Some LPG setup's have a hole cut in the bottom of the snorkel to releive air pressure. If it is changed then a balance line will need to be installed from the gas converter to the airbox. Even then a lot of stuffing around is needed to get it running right. Mines almost right except it sometimes surges when accelerating :evil:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 927

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon EGas

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Toras, that black hose is only a coolant return line, don't worry about that.

I'd be reseting your computer, that should fix it, as it will learn that you have a bigger inlet there.

Basically, unplug your battery for about 30mins then plug back in and take for a drive.

The idle will settle down after about 200 kms.

 

_________________

BA Falcon Futura on EGas. Stock as...

EF 5 speed manual; PH 4480 Pacemaker Headers; 2 1/2" Lukey Mandrel Bent System; Hi Flow Walker Cat; Stage 3 Crow Cam; ChipTorque Chip; 3" Mandrel Bent Intake; K&N Pod Filter; Low Pedders Suspension; 17" EL GT Champagne Rims; RPM Series Clutch

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Or even faster than waiting for approx 30 minutes with the battery disconnected, bridge the computer if you are confident. Unless the computer pinouts are different between the EF and the EL.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Try this see if it works, just a hunch but the same thing happens to me from time to time.

Disconnect the battery and leave the car for atleast 30 minutes if not more. Then reconnect the battery, get the car engine temp up to normal.

Put the handbrake on and put the car in Neutral, while the car is still running/idling, do this for atleast 2 mintues. Check the idle speed and make sure it is correct and adjust it if you need to.

Then turn the car off but leave ignition at the ON position. Place the car in Park. Then press the accelerator to the floor and hold it thier for about 2 mintues.

Then switch the car off completely. Then start it again and take it for a drive, making sure the shift changes are nice and crisp.

After this the car should be idling smoother even when selecting the R,N,D and P. If that doesnt work then mabe try what other people have suggested here.

I have done this numerous times and doing this has fixed the dodgy idle. Good luck.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 10:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Nah i dont have LPG... just a hijacked thread.

Yes, i was talking about the black rubber hose above the radiator (ok. so that isnt my problem...)

Mmm... il try that 2mora morning... THANKS HEAPS FOR YOUR HELP GUYS.

Btw how do i change my base idle???? Is it easy to do...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 10:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Also... today my car now drops to as low as 200rpm (now everytime this problem occurs) ---> and has now stalled on me 3 times (has NEVER stalled on me before).

This is scaring the s**t outta me, because now its happening when im driving (the temp of the car is fine, btw -> needle sits on the "A") and everytime i slow down to a stop it happens, and i have to give it part throttle, otherwise it will stall.

AHHHHHHHHH. this is making me go insane.

Will definatelly try u guys advice 2mora morning!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names