Fordmods Logo

idling problem=S 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: idling problem=S
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

when i start my car up it turns over then dies, but if i keep the revs up to around 1500rpm then start driving then when the engine is warm it goes ok like normal , the car is an EF fairmont apparently there is alot of problems with ecu's in the EF range ?


please help :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

my au is doing something similair.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i got the feeling aswell the car is loosing power it jus doesnt hav that go when in take off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

same here

im looking in to fuel supply now, will let you know

ps - its the hybrid motor too

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

You could try and reset the ECU, disconnect the battery for 30 mins....If you dont have a manual for your car then buy one, it should have a procedure for this in it as well.

I reckon it could be the ISC (idle speed controller). When the car warms up it will free up, when cold it will stay partially shut. I have got rid of mine altogether as i had issues with the revs takin ages to go back after revving. Just adjust the screw up on the side of the throttle body.

Cheers

8-) Daz 8-)

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2477

Joined: 10th Mar 2007

Gallery: 27 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

I had a very similar problem with my EF too. When i start the car in the morning the car would fire but then die almost straight away. Sometimes i could keep trying to start the car 4-5 times and it still would fire but then die unless i gave it some gas just to keep the revs up, but even then the idle would hunt for a few minutes like it had a massive cam in it :lol: . Once the car is warm though, it seems you can turn the car off and start it up again no problem. I pulled out the Idle speed controller and cleaned it out, now it fires first time everytime ever since.

Try pulling the ISC off and cleaning it out with some carby cleaner and see how that goes

 

_________________

Money Talks, But All Mine Ever Says Is Goodbye
EF Fairmont - EFF111 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 567

Joined: 2nd Jul 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5spd EF

I found leaving it off gives a 100% better result haha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 65

Joined: 25th Aug 2007

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

if you unplug the idle speed control if it doesn't get worse its stuffed or gummed up there is a procedure it the manual to test what voltages should be on which pins
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 218

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EF, Magna, R33 skyline

i had the same problem/ it was the map sensor & check the vac line that runs to it
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names