Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Info on "Hybrid Engines"
Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: XH B&S ute, Navara 4x4

Power: 202 rwkw

SA, Australia

Just pulled the engine on my XH. Build date is 10/98. Being an engine reconditioner by trade (but out of the game for a few years) I'm a bit confused. I did a lot of E series heads when I worked in the trade but never seen one like this. It has conical valve springs :? . To top it off it has main caps like an AU ie. it has the ability to put a main cap/sump girdle on. Is this the mythical "hybrid engine"? Are these heads any better than a Tickford or standard head given that this one is a bit coroded and will need a full reco? Finally, being an XH, it had the old log style manifold on it. I have a broad band manifold etc, that was "acquired". What is involved in fitting this regarding wiring/plumbing etc?
Thanks for any info. 8-)

BTW the engine had done 270000 of the hardest ks you'll ever see and still had hone marks in the bores :D Was only pulled cos it started to use a bit of oil and has had an externally leaking head gasket for about 2 years. :lol:

You'll ride a black tornado across the western sky

You'll rope an ol' blue norther and milk it 'till it's dry

Bulldog the Diamantina pin its ears down flat

Long before you take this cowboy's hat

Post subject: Re: Info on "Hybrid Engines"
Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:15 pm 

Ride: AU XR8

NSW, Australia

yep it sounds like its the hybrid..
the hybrid is not really a mythical engine it was just used in the last of the e series.
the hybrid is a mix of e series and au parts..
the head is pretty much an au head . it has au valves,valve springs,au rocker ratio and cam..

although aparently the e series heads have larger ports and flow more std..
but the std au heads have the same size valves as the e series tickford heads..