Fordmods Logo

installed cd player car won't start. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: installed cd player car won't start.
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

hey y'all just finshed putting a kenwood cd player in the neighbours car she owns a eb with smartlock and here it gos

i installed the cd player in fine accidently blew a fuse for the radio and cig liter and i replaced that. any way finshed installing it and went home not 5 minutes later she came over and asked if i can reprogram her remotes cause they wouln't work read the book yeah started to do that. about 20 minutes of playing it wasn't working for me (cause i did it a week before second go got it.) then i had a thought start the car......

car just cranked and cranked and cranked read the book again turned the car to the "on" postion waited half an hour and started the car up i let it run for a bit turned it off and then tried to start it again cranked etc etc no go. so how can i reset smart lock, is it as simple of taking the battery terminal off for a few hours or anything simple

cheers

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

Help any one even dodgey comments will help.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:18 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
check the interior light fuse.. as the smartlock fuse is the interior light fuse on some models..???
but im not sure if that is the same on eb???
hope this helps...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

If it is cranking then I don't think it is smartlock related. As mentioned check all fuses again.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

Check BEM earth .... same thing happened after I had a headunit intstalled in my XG ute ... earth was knocked to the BEM ... causing a dodgy connection .... ute failed to start.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

TMAN NK wrote:
hi
check the interior light fuse.. as the smartlock fuse is the interior light fuse on some models..???
but im not sure if that is the same on eb???
hope this helps...


Thats right....

In fords with smart lock the CRT LMP fuse or similar blows and what happens is it kills power to the BEM. This is why the Smarklock remotes will not work. It is cranking but not starting because the BEM is not getting power therefore it is not telling the ECU to enable the injectors.

I hope this fixes your problems (i have had the EXACT sane thing with my EF before)

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes its the CRT_LMP fuse. I had exactly the same problem. The smartlock immobiliser is stuck on and thats why it wont start. Even in the fuse doesnt look blown just change it because mine didnt looked f**k but it was.

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... highlight=

thats my topic about it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: fuse
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 165

Joined: 5th Apr 2006

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: El Fairmont and Ka

Location: Forrestfield, Perth
WA, Australia

hey i shorted out my crt_lmp fuse some time ago since then if i turn the key to start the motor it cranks over for a bit and then starts but if you turn the key to power the fuel pump and all but not to startthe car a few time then try to strat it, it starts no problem

nay one have this what could it be sound like the same problem

 

_________________

Image

EVLMONT

Ridin Dirty*

Urban Assult Vehicle

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

perhaps you need to reset the ECU by removing power for 30 minutes.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ok
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:23 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 165

Joined: 5th Apr 2006

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: El Fairmont and Ka

Location: Forrestfield, Perth
WA, Australia

ok ill go try

 

_________________

Image

EVLMONT

Ridin Dirty*

Urban Assult Vehicle

Last edited by Brett-one on Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

connect BOTH green and yellow wires to to the battery cable

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

twason wrote:
If it is cranking then I don't think it is smartlock related. As mentioned check all fuses again.


Its cranking but not starting and you havnt touched anything to do with the smart lock besides the CRT_LMP then yes it is smartlock related.

If the CRT_LMP is blown the smartlock isnt getting power and if it doesnt get power the ECU dont get the message to enable the injectors.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:58 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 65

Joined: 24th Jul 2006

Ride: au xr6

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

hey dude u mit of just earth the battery out check the earth wire runnin into the cd player its not the smartlock
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

flyin2high wrote:
hey dude u mit of just earth the battery out check the earth wire runnin into the cd player its not the smartlock


?? what, that doesn't make sense.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

stomper wrote:
twason wrote:
If it is cranking then I don't think it is smartlock related. As mentioned check all fuses again.


Its cranking but not starting and you havnt touched anything to do with the smart lock besides the CRT_LMP then yes it is smartlock related.

If the CRT_LMP is blown the smartlock isnt getting power and if it doesnt get power the ECU dont get the message to enable the injectors.


Well I could be wrong but my impression was that smartlock disables the starter and the ECU. I checked the smartlock documentation and it agrees with me, here is a quote from it
Quote:

The immobilised state is indicated by the Smartlock warning jewel (LED) as a rapid flash rate.
The system enters the immobilised state if Smartlock receives at least two incorrect codes when the ignition switch is turned to On.
When the car is in the immobilised state, you cannot start the engine, as the BEM has disabled both the starter motor, and the EEC-V system.
If the cause of the immobilisation is a corruption of the codes during transfer, you should be able to start the car on the second attempt.
This indicates that the BEM side of smartlock is OK its the ECU that is not happy. The starter is driven from the BEM!

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names