Fordmods Logo

installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:07 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi all as u mite have seen i been askin alot of questions bout the dizzy/tfi sensor on an EA. well i bought a brand new dizzy and had a go at installing it myself. got the motor on TDC pulled out the old dizzy put the new 1 in. lined it up all perfect (well what i thought was perfect) bought sum new leads and plugs installed all that, went to start it and it wont start. it cranks but wont start, also it backfires a little. now this is my first time at installing a EA dizzy (normally work on X series cars) but im taking a guess that the timing is out? now if this is the problem how do i adjust it/fix it lol. any help on the matter would be great thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

Have u tried rotating the dizzy at all?
it might just be a lil out of time. U might have to try setting the engine to tdc and see where the rotor lines up inside the dizzy.
U would have noticed (well I hope u did lol) the 'start' and 'finish' lines when installing the new one. As long as yougo close to dongthqt rightushould be able to twist the dizzyto get it going

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:29 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

how can u check when the motor is at TDC if the dizzy isnt set right? and also the new dizzy didnt have start and finish marks but the old one did that is why i think i put it in wrong
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

lol s**t you'll have fun the then.

TDC is marked on the harmonic balancer - not the distributor.
ill be doing this in my car later today, so ill take some pics to show where the dizzy rotor should be pointing when the motor is at TDC and where the dizzy should be sitting.

that will get you close enough

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:16 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 57

Joined: 16th Aug 2009

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: FG G6

Location: gawler
SA, Australia

sounds like your 180 out. you have to set motor up on tdc on the compression stroke. remove no. 1 spark plug and turn the motor over by hand. you should feel pressure in plug hole as piston getting close to tdc

 

_________________

2008 FG G6 stock as......for now.
95 DF LTD FOR SALE. 18" rays engineering staggered rims. Super low king springs and Monroe shocks. Jvc double din. Cappa leather. Original rims, springs and stereo in shed still

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:18 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 57

Joined: 16th Aug 2009

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: FG G6

Location: gawler
SA, Australia

sounds like your 180 out. you have to set motor up on tdc on the compression stroke. remove no. 1 spark plug and turn the motor over by hand. you should feel pressure in plug hole as piston getting close to tdc

 

_________________

2008 FG G6 stock as......for now.
95 DF LTD FOR SALE. 18" rays engineering staggered rims. Super low king springs and Monroe shocks. Jvc double din. Cappa leather. Original rims, springs and stereo in shed still

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

yeah could be the go, i had that problem with My ea.
if you cant find TDC on the balancer, gently put a screw driver into the spark plug hole to feel when its at TDC - but as said above, its important that its the compresison stroke

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:42 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

well i finally got it running, worked on it every lunch break this week. turned the key it ran perfect for bout 3 mins, then stalled and now wont start. any suggestion.

ps. thanks for everyone's help on getting it this far
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:36 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Is it EFI or CFI, and what did the dizzy come from?

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

its MPFI and its a brand new dizzy from repco. also got new plugs and leads
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

so i started it again bout 5 mins ago. had to have my foot flat to the floor for it to idle, and every 3ish seconds the rpms would increase by ruffly 500. ne one no what the problem could b?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

Gav_21 wrote:
so i started it again bout 5 mins ago. had to have my foot flat to the floor for it to idle, and every 3ish seconds the rpms would increase by ruffly 500. ne one no what the problem could b?


Sounds like the timing is retarded, Put the motor back too TDC no1 cmpression stroke. Take the dizzy out and reposition it 1 cog ahead on the dizzy shaft.

Samething you describe happened to me when I changed over dizzy's during a MPI conversion. There are 2 cogs that the dizzy will slide down on the aux shaft, one off and it will run retarded and there isn't enough movement on the dizzy too advance the timing enough to get it right.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installed new dizzy in EA now wont run. timing maybe?
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

so wot ur saying is when ive installed the dizzy ive put it in 1 cog off the proper position? so now i have to unistall it and move it to the right one cog or to the left one cog? thanks for ur help
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:40 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names