Fordmods Logo

Instrumentation Panel - ((!)) Symbol 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Instrumentation Panel - ((!)) Symbol
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:32 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 28th Oct 2006

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

Hello - would anybody know where the
symbol ((!)) - an apopstrophe in a circle -
is described ? I can't find this in any if
the AU1 manuals I own.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

howdy, welcome to the forums!

that is probably either the park brake on light, or the brakes fail light, but i dont know much about AU's so dont listen to me :P

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:44 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

That's an exclamation mark by the way...and in an EL it means BRAKE FAILURE...I'm guessing its the same for the AU's.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:06 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 28th Oct 2006

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

That's right - exclamation mark !
Must be handbrake.

Thanks so much.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 28th Oct 2006

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

That's right - exclamation mark !
Must be handbrake.

Thanks so much.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1028

Joined: 13th Jul 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I think that the handbrake is ((P)) isn't it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:50 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 18th Jun 2006

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

Try topping up brake fluid
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:03 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

lagmaster wrote:
I think that the handbrake is ((P)) isn't it?


What lagmaster said. An encircled P is the handbrake...exclamation mark is brake failure. I would suggest not to drive if you have brake failure...cause it may not stop.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 28th Oct 2006

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

After a lengthy saga, I got to the bottom
of this today. I installed a new 12A650MC
(that's an ecu in plain english) and she
goes. The bloke in Ford told me someone
had already replaced the original with a
later model modified ecu. That's lasted 6
years. My 98 AU had a 2000 model modified
ecu. Why ? I don't know. Is that normal ?
I don't know but when they fail they seem
hard to diagnose without a kit of some sort.
Ended up replacing ignition switch, coil,
plugs. So if anyone wants to buy faulty
BE modified to be a MC they can have it
for $100. Otherwise I will pull it apart
and see if I can fix it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

what i can't understand is that AU Falcon ECU's can be uploaded with new data from the series II & III. Just like on the BA's ford are able to upload new software on a ford service for better fuel economy, emissions etc.

So did they charge you $800 for an ECU or just $100 for the reprogramming.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

pluck wrote:
After a lengthy saga, I got to the bottom
of this today. I installed a new 12A650MC
(that's an ecu in plain english) and she
goes. The bloke in Ford told me someone
had already replaced the original with a
later model modified ecu. That's lasted 6
years. My 98 AU had a 2000 model modified
ecu. Why ? I don't know. Is that normal ?
I don't know but when they fail they seem
hard to diagnose without a kit of some sort.
Ended up replacing ignition switch, coil,
plugs. So if anyone wants to buy faulty
BE modified to be a MC they can have it
for $100. Otherwise I will pull it apart
and see if I can fix it.
so you had to change the ecu to get rid of
the exclamation mark !
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4323

Joined: 17th Jan 2006

Ride: Soarer 2.5GT-T

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

pluck wrote:
My 98 AU had a 2000 model modified
ecu. Why ? I don't know.


It's called, the easiest way to put lower kms on the car before you sell it ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

Soulfire wrote:
pluck wrote:
My 98 AU had a 2000 model modified
ecu. Why ? I don't know.


It's called, the easiest way to put lower kms on the car before you sell it ;)

I know you were prolly joking, but I'm going to be an anal bastard :-D
The KMs are held in the Inst Cluster, not the ECU :-P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 28th Oct 2006

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

$572 Inc .GST from Ford parts shop.
Finally I got the car started.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

96ghia wrote:
Soulfire wrote:
pluck wrote:
My 98 AU had a 2000 model modified
ecu. Why ? I don't know.


It's called, the easiest way to put lower kms on the car before you sell it ;)

I know you were prolly joking, but I'm going to be an anal bastard :-D
The KMs are held in the Inst Cluster, not the ECU :-P


Not in the AU they aren't... or so I'm told
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names