Fordmods Logo

Knock sensors.... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Knock sensors....
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

The knock sensors appeared in the later models... ef-el?

I have an EBII... wanting to turbo and a knock sensor is always handy..

Ignoring the ECU side of it can i take knock sensor and conditioner unit from a later model and screw it into my block somewhere and have a functioning knock sensor, or is there a reason why i cant..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Don't see why not if you can find a place to attach it.
I don't think there is any conditioner outside the sensor it just outputs a voltage.

You might have trouble interpreting the signal though. For a rough guide my knock sensor sits at 2.92 volts around idle and moves to around 3.3 at full throttle 5500 rpm. This is on premium athough I wouldn't know if this means its detonating or just normal with the engine revs. It's always moving around with throttle/RPM. Generally higher load and revs = greater voltage.

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Knock sensors....
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

glenneaux wrote:
The knock sensors appeared in the later models... ef-el?

I have an EBII... wanting to turbo and a knock sensor is always handy..

Ignoring the ECU side of it can i take knock sensor and conditioner unit from a later model and screw it into my block somewhere and have a functioning knock sensor, or is there a reason why i cant..


you'd need some where to put it. there is no provision on the early blocks.
you could have a bracket made that bolts to a spare hole on the block that could have the sensor in it. it would still sence the knock but you then need an ECU that can do some thing with the signal

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The conditioning circuit is built into the relevant EEC-4/5. If you install the knock sensor, you can use an EL ECU to run it and also get Thermo fan control (as long as you put in smartlock, have smartlock, or get a bypass).

Then chip it for your turbo.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

hrmmmm

this will be used with a megasquirt II.. which currently isn't coded to retard timing on knocking, but will allow the input and logging of the signal.

In this case i'll probably have to go for another car/engine knock sensor/conditioning circuit or something suitable for the MSII.. oh well not to worry!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:21 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names