Fordmods Logo

Lame as..posibly another engine to replace.. 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 51 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Well i knew from buying the Ghia that it had engine problems haha but didnt think it would die so easily. last night drove it home from work and noticed smoke and a slight burning oil smell.. Not good lol. It was too dark to see what was going on, so this morning i checked it and yep sure enough, thiers an oil leak. The oil dipstick indicator is at the add mark so its close to having no oil in it at all.

Tried to have a look underneath (uneven surface too dangerous to jack) and thiers definately a leak comming from somewhere. I looked at what appeared to be the Oil pressure sensor and that looked like it was where the oil was coming from.. although im not 100% certain.

But the engine still has been whining like it was when i bought it.. Im thinking i may have to get another engine lol, although the engine thats in it was pretty good except for the whining noise/leaks lol.

Is it cheaper to fix an older engine or is it better going for a recon?

Oh well :roll: least i have another car to drive in the mean time.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Last edited by XRFan101 on Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

I may have a healthy EF motor for sale soon.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:22 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

buy a low k au engine for it.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:28 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i would investigate where the oil is comming from first!!
if its just the oil sender easy fix..

and the whining might noy be the engine as mentioned before??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1353

Joined: 15th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: AU XR6

Power: 171 rwkw

Location: thornton
NSW, Australia

XRFan101 wrote:
The oil dipstick indicator is at the add mark so its close to having no oil in it at all.



the indicator area on the dipstick only shows the top .5 or 1L of oil in the sump, if the oil is touching the botom of the stick youve still got at least 3.5L in there.

 

_________________

9/98 AU1 XR6hp-about to retire from the road and be reborn on the race track.
86 ZL mint grandpa spec with premo sound and 150000km
07 TTG 60000km stock as, mods to come.
97 el futura about to be MOCKed

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Ahh well thats not too bad then, yeah i (believe) that it is the oil pressure sender, as thats the only part that i can see without puting the car on a hoist or ramps that has a fresh oil leak around it.

However im not entirely 100% sure wtf the oil pressure sender looks like but im just having a guess.....

Not very good.. is it easy to replace the sender? and does it require the car to be on a hoist or could i possibly get to it putting the car on ramps?

Ne ways gonna see if i can fix it this week, then get the engine degreased. and then find out where this whining is comming from. which i think is the transmisson, but thats just a guess.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

And can an Oil pressure sensor even leak out that much oil if it is worn out.?

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Mine dumped 5L in under 5 mins

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

67RCE wrote:
Mine dumped 5L in under 5 mins


Ouch, well im am guessing then thats what has caused my oil leak... as the dash oil pressure gauge was reading faulty due to the previous owner taking the car to someone to get it fixed, but he reckons they F*** it up.. so all the pieces of the puzzle fit in that regard. will see if i can get one and i will try and fix it myself if it easy to do.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Haha no wonder the stupid oil pressure gauge wasnt working the sensor was disconected... Bit strange it just read 7 all the time on the gauge. The bloody sonsor has obviously s**t itself ne way.

Question is it better going for the Genuine Ford sensor's as you can get ones made by Tridon for $13? Haha either its really f**k cheap or Ford have really huge markups.. please let me know, will save me from buying one tommorrow!

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

You sure the Tridon on isn't just a pressure switch? Thats probably why its so cheap!

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Tridon one's a switch not a sensor.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:57 pm 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

If replacing the motor go all the way and replace it with a AU motor
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
Tridon one's a switch not a sensor.


Haha lame as, i thought it sounded weird. I will just get the genuine Ford one.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Lame as..posibly another engine to replace..
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

SV-Valiant wrote:
If replacing the motor go all the way and replace it with a AU motor


Yeah i would if i had the $$$$ to spend, i think all panels and Parts in Lonsdale SA sell low kms AU engines with wiring looms and computer etc but no bolt on accessories for under $800.

But im pretty sure the engine on this car isnt rooted, i just need to get the time to get underneath the car and suss out the leak. fix the oil pressure sensor, then sort out the whining noise. which im begining to think its the torque converter.. Im not entirely sure so i cant say for certain if its that or not.

My brother seems to think it is thou.. once thats sorted all the car needs is a decent service and it should be fine... hopefully no need for a new engine..

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names