Fordmods Logo

Love a bargain..... EF/EL thermo's hookup. 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Incidentally, I read somewhere that the EF/EL's had much more powerful alternators then the Ea-Ed's, is that because of the extra drain of the thermos? I actually noticed the engine drop some revs when the fans kicked in today... so its defiantly put a load on the alternator.

Does anyone have the specs on the output of the EA-ED and EF/EL alternators?

rgds

Franki
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/eb2-ed-i ... 57831.html
EA-Ed can be 70-80amp, usually 70a Mitsubishi. EF are 110amp Mitsi, EL 100amp
This should help,
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I believe the internals can be swapped around

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Sweet, the motor going in soon is an EL with an EF alternator.. looks like serendipity strikes again.. :-)

Incidentally, today was my first experience putting on a serpentine belt... took me about 5 tries before I figured it out... would have been much easier had I found BenJ's EL motor picture before I did it rather than afterwards...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

bArNsY,
The internals cannot be swapped around, the 110amp internals have a greater diameter than the 70 amp and are NOT interchangeable, it's an urban myth propagated by those who've never tried it.
Have a read of the thread I posted above your post for the actual results.
The 110 amp was required for the fans plus coil pack on the EF, for any other application the EL 100amp is plenty as it's only the increased output at low revs [over the 70amp] that counts and the 110 and 100 are about the same.
Cheers,
Paul
PS... the 80-85 amp is a Bosch, I think, and cannot be swapped into a Mitsubishi case.

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

MYTH BUSTED!

thanks Paulmac for the confirmation, that why i posted "i believe...."


cheers
Barnsy

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

No worries mate,
I took it as read and wasn't referring to you as a 'propogator' LOL
Even Snap0964 wasn't sure until I tried it and Ray knows his 'stuff'. It must have been the only thing he hasn't tried to modify but given time he'd have got around to it! LOL
Cheers,
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I am being held up waiting for an EL ECU plug... otherwise I'd have wired all this stuff up by now...

very frustrating..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Wiring manual switch to high speed thermo in EL
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 73

Posts: 3

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Location: Warra
QLD, Australia

HI, there.......I wish to fit a switch in the cabin to enable me to switch on the high speed thermo fan on my EL manually. I feel that I need to do this as the car gets very hot on uphill climbs and it seems that the high speed fan comes on at too high a temp. I have a new radiator, on the 56th thermostat, the head has been done and a new water pump fitted and still the same problem persists. I have searched just about everywhere re wiring a switch and there are plenty of people who say they have done it, but I can't seem to find how they exactly did it! I have seen wiring diagrams, etc, however what I really need is someone to actually explain it more or less wire by wire, connection by connection if this is possible.... Is there anyone who could help me in this before I have to take it to a Auto Electrician??
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

 

_________________

Fiddler

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 73

Posts: 3

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Location: Warra
QLD, Australia

Thanks anyway, however have now fixed the problem.....

 

_________________

Fiddler

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well spill, what did you do?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

was it a stuffed thermo fan relay???

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 73

Posts: 3

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Location: Warra
QLD, Australia

It seems that the 2nd speed comes in at too high a temp. To fix, gather one Auto-Electrician, add $130, add switch to enable fan speed to be controlled manually and switch on before the climb. Simple, really!!!
Shep

 

_________________

Fiddler

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hmmmm, you could have done what I did..

get a 60 dollar davies craig thermo switch and bypass the factory stuff altogether.. now when the guage gets to about 3mm into operating temp, the fans come on full.. temp never goes up or down from there... perfect.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: car10001 and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:51 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names