Fordmods Logo

low water light always on 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: low water light always on
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Hi, recently the low water light is permanantly on in the dash, and theres water in it. Its giving me the s**t and have cleaned the terminals on the connector at the coolant tank, what could it be?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

hi i have recently bought three of these senders from the wreckers and i have noticed they all have a few drops of water inside the float part. i think this could be your problem the float is leaking (full of coolant).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 554

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef 5 speed

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

never buy them from wreckers they all ways stuff up and i hate to say this go see a ford dealer

and i know not to buy them from a wrecker because i work for one

 

_________________

i am in need of a new front bar or good condation secondhand for a 95 ef futra,
lsd for a for ef ,modifed au sump to go in and ef , working air con compressor

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

theyre about 60bux new from ford, 20 odd or so from the wreckers. mine went, got one from the wreckers, been fine since.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

thanks guys i might pull it out and have a look
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

Should be able to get a new float switch from Jaycar and mod it :D

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:13 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 181

Joined: 4th Aug 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 97 EL futura & BF XR6 Turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

cool now i know why mine is always on but when the water is low it turns off hehe

 

_________________

there is only 2 rules in driving go hard or go home

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

If you guys look in the parts database here you will see a float for the coolant tank - its just the plastic float that clips onto the switch with a little magnet in it.

What happens is that the whole lot Gets Hot/and or Rusts, and the plastic fatigues.

Then through "magic" (meaning I dont have a clue what really goes wrong) your coolant light stays on. Replacing the float is about $25, and fixes the problem in 99% of cases.

Cheaper than replacing the whole switch, and works like new again
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

what? The float is available as a separate part? I asked them about this and they said no? Do you know the part number? I was going to try and make a new float from a plastic wine cork as I thought this would a, float and b, not corrode in coolant. I gort a load of them last time I was a pick a part and all had cracks except 1 which seems to be working ok but I need to fit 1 in my other car.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I replaced the float on my EB last time, and im about to do it again.

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/parts.ph ... %2010F888A
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I was shown on the ford computer that the float/sensor to plug is one piece, and about 60bux worth.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Check the link to our parts database. The Sensor is one peice, however the float can be replaced as a service item

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

the float is available seperate however it is only shown in the AU parts fische. not all parts guys know about it because the whole assy was so common from EA onwards they never bothereed to check. well thats my theory anyway.

so you can certainly ask for just the float. if they tell you no, tell them the part number that is in the above link from nigel

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 7:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

That's a great help thanks guys. The other tip is to get the rubber grommet new from the dealer while your there. The new surge tanks for AU are cheaper too. I replaced my ef (cracked again) with new au plus the hose as it's longer so as to mount it a little higher hopefully to reduce the incidence of bubbles in the head.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Talk to me - I was just looking at this.

Whats needed to make the AU tank fit? - and whats different? - do all 3 mounting bolts line up, and do you have a pic?

Cheers

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:45 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names