Fordmods Logo

LPG 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: LPG
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

can a lpg system from a EA 3.9L multipiont be adapted to fit on a EL 4.0L

any1 got pics/diagrams of their EL lpg install
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:32 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

the tank will fit but im thinking ya might need a gas computer(to make it legal), convertor(depends on what type you already have), mixer and filler neck(not sure if necks are same).plus guage, service line etc....
someone please correct me if i am wrong
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:50 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 52

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 87 XF Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The EA should have had a computer as well, anything with an Oxy sensor must have a computer.

Definately need a new service line.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Tank, Computer gas safety solenoid & Converter should be reuseable. Mixer wont be. You will need new gas line from tank.

Check and make sure Tank is in date.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

tanks is being tested/restamped - will be fitting new lines/hoses/etc

what type of mixer for EL ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:30 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 21

Joined: 27th Dec 2005

Ride: gt40

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

how come u need new lines???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

im sure ur are legally required to run new lines and the old ones were cut off anyway
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

tiny56 wrote:
tanks is being tested/restamped - will be fitting new lines/hoses/etc

what type of mixer for EL ?


Mixer I had in my EA was a right angle Impco, Mixer for EL is a inline ring style.
It may be possible to fit the EA mixer to the EL throttle body. Worth giving it a go.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:22 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 52

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 87 XF Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yes you are definately required to run a new service line - its the legal side of things.

But the old one would be a prick to work with anyway cause it work hardens after a few bends - you'll be much happier running new copper.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

that was allways a given anyway - new copper lines and hoses

anyone got a pic of the mixer needed for a el and where it fits - i assume at the throttle body - where could u buy one in SA

i looked at a mates el install and it looks a bit dodgy - it looks to be installed through a drilled hole in the elbow of the inlet
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Heres Mine :)

All Impco gear

Mine's an EF though, but when you convert, they recommend getting the EL intake etc, and doing away with the EF plastic twin tubes to the airbox.

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Impco LPG Install
LPG_Mixer_3.jpg
LPG_Mixer_3.jpg [ 73.88 KiB | Viewed 43 times ]

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

That looks like the same mixer I had on my EA, but not the ones i've seen on other EL's. So it looks like you will be able to use it.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

EBGizmo wrote:
Heres Mine :)All Impco gear
Mine's an EF though, but when you convert, they recommend getting the EL intake etc, and doing away with the EF plastic twin tubes to the airbox.
Yeah my EL's like that setup (it's Impco as well) - I installed mine myself - I still have the diagrams showing how to cut the stock inlet tubes, so when you're ready to do it, give me a hoy for the scans.

You might want to try an EL Tickford LPG ECU - this EBay seller vitacca123 has them regularly, and quite often they end with no bids, so you should be able to pick one up for $90 + $20 postage.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:34 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

i run a omvl converter mounted on the rh strut tower and the ring type mixer fitted in the intake tube. personally i reckon its the ducks guts. sensational economy, reliability and performance.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:21 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 88

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

I run a B2 and a 225 on my EA Multipoint, and it come standard with a computer on the CFI when I had it, I ran new lines under the car, just to be safe, also new copper is easier to minuplate than old copper, I had a CFI EA spak, crashed so i put it all in my MPFI had to get a new mixer and converter evenutally, as mixing rings suck............ as A, it halfs your throttle body size and B. dosnt get enough gas into the system.

With the 225 and the B2 its great :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names