Fordmods Logo

Make rev limiter lower??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Make rev limiter lower???
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Hi, is there an easy way to make the rev limiter kick in earlier to possibly save my motor and bad driving habits lol

I say this cause im running an EA t5 and 3.7 diff which makes first gear extremely short and sometimes hard to keep off the top end of the revs under WOT. Is there something i can do to make the rev limiter come down to maybe 5200rpm?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

DataMine had fun with his EECV raising the limit, but I think you are going to be stuck with what you have unless you go after market ECU. Having said that Jaycar have a kit that people use for BBM switching, perhaps you could use this to cut the injector power.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:49 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i wouldnt worrie to much about it unless your engine is already on deaths door..

ford put the factory rev limiter at 5700 rpm because that it the most ford will allow you to rev it..
this is to prevent engine damage..

if ford thought that reving your engine to 4800 or 5200 was going to cause failure they would have made the factory limit lower...

im not saying you can drive around reving on the limiter because it will still wear your engine out..

maybe you should be quicker on your reaction to the way the engine revs
or convert it to auto lol..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:49 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Or get something like a Crane HI-6, set the rev limiter via that and get a stronger spark at the same time.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1775

Joined: 10th Jul 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BFII Turbo

Power: 253 rwkw

Location: Waurn Ponds
VIC, Australia

at the risk of sounding stupid, whats a crane hi-6?

 

_________________

enough isn't enough

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:18 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 69

Joined: 31st Aug 2007

Ride: AUIII Fairmont Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

lol seriously....the stock rev limiter is nothin. smash it all day and dont worry!

 

_________________

Bog Stock Au fairmont Ghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

If you can't control how high you rev your car, buy an auto...seriously...just don't hit the limit, you dont need any reduced limiter!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

the_scotsman wrote:
If you can't control how high you rev your car, buy an auto...seriously...just don't hit the limit, you dont need any reduced limiter!


lol yeah should be a better driver, i just get carried away sometimes and first gear isnt very forgiving..... 45kph for an optimal gear change and gets there in one-and-a-bit seconds.

My stupid fault for matching ea box with a short diff....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:58 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 69

Joined: 31st Aug 2007

Ride: AUIII Fairmont Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

3.7's and an EA box ouch...thats overkill...

 

_________________

Bog Stock Au fairmont Ghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:36 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

More Grunt wrote:
at the risk of sounding stupid, whats a crane hi-6?

capacitive discharge ignition module.
More here

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it would be possible to design a circuit which would cut the injectors at any RPM sensor frequency you like. There might be something similar out there, try looking for a frequency activated switch.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

I might buy one of Chiptorque's stand alone shift lights. No monster bling tacho, just the light ready to fit, think its $60.

Its only first gear that bounces off the redline...... and my hopeless driving
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
it would be possible to design a circuit which would cut the injectors at any RPM sensor frequency you like. There might be something similar out there, try looking for a frequency activated switch.


Total fuel cut at max RPM!? No! Bad shannonwulff! Haha, would be safer to cut spark more than anything...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 1:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
shannonwulff wrote:
it would be possible to design a circuit which would cut the injectors at any RPM sensor frequency you like. There might be something similar out there, try looking for a frequency activated switch.


Total fuel cut at max RPM!? No! Bad shannonwulff! Haha, would be safer to cut spark more than anything...


Cutting fuel is better than cutting spark unless you can cut the spark the same way as the CDI ignitions do - ie drop the spark on random cylinders.
If you simply put a freq switch inbetween the PIP or coil - wire, when the spark is dropped, and then restored again, it will most likely blow the exhaust system off. Cutting fuel is a much safer way of doing it if your DIY - you would only need to cut one injector bank anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the factory limiter, what does it cut out, mine comes in at 5300-5400rpm, but wot is it cuttiing? fuel? spark ?

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:21 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names