Fordmods Logo

MAP vs MAF - any point in an I6. 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 39 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: MAP vs MAF - any point in an I6.
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK V8's have always had MAF's e-series I6 got MAP's so is there really any use in getting a MAF running and working on an e-series I6.

I hear that a MAF is more accurate and gives more power ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:17 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

MAF is far more accurate.. it measures the air mass entering the engine, as opposed to guessing the engine load based on manifold pressure.

Knowing exactly how much air is entering the engine makes it easier to calculate the correct amount of fuel required for maximum efficiency.

You also reduce idle quality issues with high overlap cams at idle, as high overlap leads to low manifold pressure, and with a MAP sensor it sees this condition as being engine load and therefore richens the mixture - causing hunting and stalling.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

eec-iv V8 ecu's also run sequential firing, if they count 6 then hit the pip signal, does this mean that they will only sequentialy fire 6 cylinders and forget about numbers 7 and 8 ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:22 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

No. It will most likely put the car into LOS mode. You also need to remember for a MAF to work correctly it needs to know the number of cylinders and engine capacity

Your best bet would be getting a V8 ECU which is TwEECer compatible, a TwEECer RT and configure the ECU for 6cyl, 4L and you would of course have the ability to tune the car to your requirements.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

You may have read my response elsewhere Delboy *cough*

Main advantage is that MAF doesnt require stable manifold pressure. So basically, you can put an obscene cam in a MAF metered V8 (hopefully with a manual box...) and not have too many fueling dramas.

MAFs are more accurate because they measure the MASS of the air going into the engine. It therefore compensates significantly for atmospheric pressure, altitude etc. Whereas speed-density (MAP) requires sensors and functions to compensate for such variances. A MAF is capable of getting better AFs because it calculates a more accurate measure of air.

A lot of MAF metered vehicles opt for MAP (MAFless tunes with LS1edit) and most aftermarket ECUs for for MAP. A MAF sensor is unfortunately a restriction within the intake... not good for power... the paradox being a large (read 90mm+ MAF) costs big $$$$$$$.

Converting to MAF?? Can be done with a tweecer i believe. i.e. get a MAF metered EEC from the US and butcher it to run on the aussie 6cyl. Probably easier than trying to implement MAF conversion tables into the aussie EEC.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So unless you go big cam and big overlap, no real gain to be had, any aftermarket ecu interceptor will allow as much tuning as possible then ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:41 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Dellboy999 wrote:
So unless you go big cam and big overlap, no real gain to be had, any aftermarket ecu interceptor will allow as much tuning as possible then ?


Interceptors are evil.. get a full aftermarket ECU, its only a few more $$ !

Even putting the big cam aside, you will still get more stable AFR's from a Mass Air setup which generally equates to better power, economy and longer life from the engine.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK and the best place to source the EEC and tweecer from locally in Australia then is ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:49 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Speak to XR9UTE, he'll have everything you want. He's also the Aussie Dealer for TwEECer

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok email sent, thanks for help so far.

Can tweecer also allow to cater for BBM ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:37 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yes and No. You'd be best then using an RPM switch and ensuring the car is dyno tuned with the RPM switch switching the BBM. No V8's had any such system like the BBM and therefore no of the V8 ECU's have the ability to switch.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have a switch, and i reliased that mapping is mapping, as long as the runners switch consistently at the same RPM it will all be good.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1687

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 1994 ED Ricer

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Pm XR9Ute, he is the man for MAF conversions on 4.0ls :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the bbm works on vacuum as long as there is vaccum the butterflies will open they just wont be able to be controlled to a fine degree by the eecv but i dont think it make that much difference


wat exactly does the ecu control on the bbm

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The BBM doesnt switch of vacuum alone. There is a valve controlled by the computer. Computer opens valve - vacuum opens short runners.

The ecu controls when they switch, and the tuning changes when it does.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names