Fordmods Logo

Misfire at idle to 1000rpm **UPDATE** 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 163

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: xf wagon

Location: bayswater
VIC, Australia

did you try replacing the balancer and
crank angle sensor as suggested?
just wondering as my wifes ef is doing the same
thing. ihave the balancer already and will get the
crank angle sensor when i get back from holidays.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

No, haven't done those yet... A bit out of my price league at the moment, what with 3 kids, birthdays and Xmas and $450 worth of Uni books......

I think I have pretty much ruled out coil, plugs or leads. Kinda funny how 4,5 and 6 seem to be missing. Thats one side of he coil pack. But two different coil packs do the same thing.

What is the I6 firing order?

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

MacGyver wrote:
What is the I6 firing order?


1-5-3-6-2-4

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Hmmmm. I wonder if that is relevant, every second cylinder is missing. This is bloody frustrating.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Looks like I fixed it!!! Finally! Pulled the Crank Angle Sensor, even though I had no codes and had a look at it. It had about 4mm of hard as rock crud stuck to the pickup. Had to sand it off it was that bad! Gave it a good degrease after and refitted. Car is smooooooth as now.

cheers All

Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

can anyone post a pic of where this sensor is located?

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Can't post a pic, but if you remove the plastic shield that sits over the power steer pump and front of the engine you can see it. It is down the front of the timing cover, just above the front pulley. Has a plug on top that you remove then feel around either side for the two 7mm bolts.

Then do an ECU relearn as commented here:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=80624

This works a treat.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:08 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks guys will do tomoz!

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 133

Joined: 6th Nov 2005

Ride: XHII ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I found this a bit late.
I had the same problem with my EF a while ago. I found the crankangle sensor was covered in crap, i cleaned it with degreaser and it idled good as gold.
You should find out where that oil was coming from that covered the sensor and fix that while you are going so that it doesnt happen again.
Mine was leaking from the camchain tensioner which ran down and over the crankangle sensor. The bolt holding mine in was loose i could undo it with my finger, you just couldnt tell because it hides behind the p/s pump bracket.

My car was just petrol before and it used to always throw a code for faulty cam position sensor. it drove fine it just had an intermittant miss, especially on the highway at 100kmh it would just stay dropping cylinders and popping etc, now that i have straight gas i just unplugged the sensor and it drives perfectly, its way smoother on gas than it ever was on petrol. The driveability is as good as the newer e-gas cars.

Also, i set my idle mixtures with the o2 sensor. Mine likes about 830-850 millivolts, its a bit richer but that gives me the smoothest engine running at idle. Just check with a multimeter that when you are turning the mixture screw that it is actually doing anything 1st, 2nd that you have enough range to make it rich enough or lean enough.
With my 225 mixer if the mixture screw is fully in the leanest it will go to is 500mV which is about 16:1 with lpg. If I go any leaner the engine runs real rough.

keep us posted.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:40 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names