Fordmods Logo

modifying el alternator to use on ea. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: modifying el alternator to use on ea.
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:47 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi

im after differences in the el alternator compared to the ea one.?

im having trouble with the ea 70 amp alternator keeping up with the amount of power the that is being drawn from it.
when im idling at the traffic lights with the aircon on and the stereo up loud the amps cut out and the volts read about 11v and if i turn the headlights on the volts guage will drop to 10v and the lights go dim.
but with no lights or aircon on the volts are around 14v

i know the pulleys are different so i guess i can change the pulleys over
but how much difference is there in the housings??

if someone has a el alternator out of the car could they please take some pics and post them up..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 704

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hows you battery mate?

Have you put a multimeter on it too see how its charged when the car is off?

How do you go cranking the engine?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:02 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the battery is ok its shows 12.3v when the engine is off it cranks the car fine..
although if i drive at night with aircon on and stereo up loud the dash lights are dim and if im on a longer trip anything longer than an hour the battery starts to go flat.. which tells me im using more power than the alternator is supplying.

oh by the way i also have el thermo fans so when the aircon is on the fans are also on..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:10 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Any reason you aren't going serpentine?
I doubt you are using more then 70amps constantly, I'd say the alternator itself is just fooked.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

I'd just do the serpentine conversion.

You're already running the thermo fans, the serpentine is neater and easier to maintain.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:23 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

true but i should have done the serpintine conversion when i put the au engine in but being a tight a** lol and i had just paid $300 for a new aircon pump and the extra for the re-gas.
i decided to keep the ea accesories..

and i dont really have a problem with the alternator during the day with the aircon off. a** the thermo fans cut in and out intermittently..

so if i can mod the ef or el one to fit its the cheapest fix i guess..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Does the alt in an EL need the ECU to tell it when to charge??? like in the EF.???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
Does the alt in an EL need the ECU to tell it when to charge??? like in the EF.???


thats a good question??

i didnt know that the ecu told the alternator when to charge on the ef..

i thought they worked the same as any other alternator with a internal reg..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

mines the same put the thermos in the volts at idle drop to 12.3 the alts just not strong enough
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

You can get 85amp alts for the EA. They were used in the Fairmont Ghia's and Fairlanes. I just bought one.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:24 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
You can get 85amp alts for the EA. They were used in the Fairmont Ghia's and Fairlanes. I just bought one.


ok..

how many amps is the el one???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

I think they were 110amps.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

yeh 110 i got one here gunna change to the serpentine belt soon
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

mreb wrote:
yeh 110 i got one here gunna change to the serpentine belt soon


When you do, if its not BBM manifold on it, you'll need an XH ute belt tensioner assembly.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:26 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EL = 100amp
EF = 110amp

They dont need any signal from the ECU to tell them to charge.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names