Fordmods Logo

Multimeters 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Multimeters
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey guys I want to pick up a multimeter today to use the diagnostic functions my car has. Are there some multimeter's I shouldn't buy, or that won't be compatable?

I was thinking of just getting the small cheapie one I saw down at supercheap, digital display.

Little help?

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You need an analogue meter to see the needle sweeping in diagnostic mode. Digital meters wont do this unless you get the expensive Fluke ones with a level meter across the bottom of the display.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My digital meter has the analogue across the bottom, also has a temp probe and RPM.
That cost around $180 going back 12 odd years ago, they'd probably be cheaper now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Okay, thanks guys.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hmmm, I've been calling around, and Bunnings, Repco, d**k Smitch and Tandy, none of them have digital/analog ones, and I'm pretty sure none of them have analog multimeters.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:37 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

try Jaycar

www.jaycar.com.au

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Sweet, they have them, thanks Waggin. Never been to Jaycar before, so this'll be fun, lol.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

One good feature with analogue meters is testing speakers and location when installing. On ohms X1 strike the probes onto speaker cables and the speaker will produce a small ticking sound making it alot easier locating front left/right/rear left/right speakers and so on. Digital meters wont do this.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 12:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1643

Joined: 8th Feb 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Ef Ghiaaaaaargh!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

d**k Smith should have them dude, ask the guy behind the counter to get out the catalogue, im 70% sure last time i had a look we had analogue multimeters..

 

_________________

Mercedes 500SEC: -- GONE -- http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-83-mercedes-500sec-buildup-t69837.html
Ef Ghia: -- GONE -- Pacie 4480's, 2.5" Redback, custom grille, FTR's.
AU xr8: BA xr wheels, 2.5" custom exh, leather and woodgrain next.
Chevy Camaro: LHD, Black, all original.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Walker wrote:
My digital meter has the analogue across the bottom, also has a temp probe and RPM.
That cost around $180 going back 12 odd years ago, they'd probably be cheaper now.


Likewise. Thought mine wasn't much cheaper and was purchased more recently - it's an ABW (sub company of Stanley) - got it from Repco, ordered in but.
Thought about buyign one of those diagnostic readers that guy on here makes? THere really good quality!

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I called Repco, d**k Smiths, Tandy, Bunnings and Coventry auto. All said no, no, no, no and no.

Jaycar did though, was cheap too. Now I just gotta figure out how to use it.

 

 

Attachments:
multimeter.jpg
multimeter.jpg [ 117.02 KiB | Viewed 27 times ]

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Looks like a pretty ok set. They are pretty easy to use. For what your doing as in diagnostic set it to 12v DC or the next under until you get a good sweep but dont let it max out or the needle assembly will be damaged. for testing normal power in the car set it to 50volts DC. For testing speakers and their impedance set it to ohms x1. If testing amps place the positive probe in the right socket and leave the negative probe in bottom left socket (max test is 10amps) so not really suitable for automotive use. NOTE: dont forget to put the postive probe back into top left socket when testing voltage, if you dont it will blow the internal fuse! If all this doesnt help read the manual!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Does that Multimeter have an impedance of 10,000,000 Ohms. That is what you need to test ECU's etc...etc..
ABW make one, is digital and has a bar graph type meter at the bottom.
They are anywhere from $140 to $180. Way cheaper than a Fluke.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

10 000 000 Ohms you say, I have no idea. I'll take more pics and ye can tell me.

 

 

Attachments:
m03.jpg
m03.jpg [ 80.06 KiB | Viewed 30 times ]
m02.jpg
m02.jpg [ 90.36 KiB | Viewed 30 times ]
m01.jpg
m01.jpg [ 88.76 KiB | Viewed 26 times ]

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Have a look in the Owners manual of the Multimeter for the specifications.
It should be in there.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names