Fordmods Logo

My Au is hitting the rev limiter at 4000rpm?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: My Au is hitting the rev limiter at 4000rpm??
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Just took out my crow cam put factory back in, took it for a drive and the car refuses to rev past 4k, it cuts in and out. its running at 3degrees advanced does that matter at all?? i didnt think it would matter only it would go alot better from take off etc.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Does that AU have a cam angle sensor????

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Crank angle sensor yes, but nothing else has been touched, straight cam swap back to factory!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

But you said you advanced the timing of the cam, yes???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

the crow cam was running advanced 3 degrees, now all i did was change the cam over and thats it! Im gonna go back to 0 degrees veryy shortly but thats no reason for the limiter to bee cutting in so early!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Just a quiz.....is the tacho accurate???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:18 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Bloody oath cos the car is gutlesss man. Thanks for the input thou, im struggling to understand it at the moment, maybe the ecu is sensing something is not rite.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Joesau wrote:
Bloody oath cos the car is gutlesss man. Thanks for the input thou, im struggling to understand it at the moment, maybe the ecu is sensing something is not rite.


Is the cam in the right spot???....just asking....make sure....you know....planting the seed of doubt......lol

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

yep cam is ok, went in the same position as the crow one, slotted into the dowell nicely. the vernier has not been touched yet im planning on going back to 0degrees i hope it helps it out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:25 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 118

Joined: 29th Jan 2007

Ride: EA fairmont, 4.0litre el xr6 eng

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i had the same problem and but i was just messing with my intake i was wondering wtf and it all came back down to a loose accelarater cable

 

_________________

I live my life qtr mile at a time :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: My Au is hitting the rev limiter at 4000rpm??
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:17 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 26th Jan 2006

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Joesau wrote:
Just took out my crow cam put factory back in, took it for a drive and the car refuses to rev past 4k, it cuts in and out. its running at 3degrees advanced does that matter at all?? i didnt think it would matter only it would go alot better from take off etc.


Interesting that you say it cuts in and out, is it ALWAYS 4000rpm, or does it vary from when the car is cold to hot, or is it just random....It sounds very much like an ignition problem to me, could be the coils have had enough or perhaps one of the plug leads wasn't put back on properly or something???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:49 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

yeah my number1 cyclinder lead is pretty much rooted, that may be the problem! like it doesnt click on properly.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:19 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names