Fordmods Logo

my BBM conversion 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Check also that you have voltage on the far side of all the fusable links as well.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Also does the fuel pump run when you turn on the ign

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: my BBM conversion (not starting)
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hey mate, well as embarrassing as it sounds, I forgot to plug my TFI module in, and yeah, well, it wouldn't start either :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Check all plugs I suppose.

cheers,

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Oh well we all do it. I hope you are nearer to fixing it. Check and see if the pump is working when you switch on. Also looking at my circuit diagram the only red and red/green wires seem to go to the injectors. I will if I get time tomorrow see if I can see where the wires go on my car.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:51 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

ok got it started, red wire wasnt connected to the solenoid??? anyhoo..

now the throttle is howling at me and its using way too much fuel, (lots of black smoke) and idle is very rough...

thanks for all the help, i wouldnt have been able to attempt this modd with fordmods but im not quite there yet, just need to figure out how to back the fuel off...any pointers?... the el ecu is connected

Cheers
Daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:01 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

just gave it a try with the ed ECU and it was running even worse, sounded like it was missfiring...if any1 is free to come down at the weekend it would be a great help, i cant offer much for payment except a few cold beers and a good lunch lol

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:59 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

lol i feel so stupid i didnt connect the map sensor hose, well its all running fairly good, just need to figure out these vacume hoses now...

cheers
daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: my BBM conversion (not starting)
Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

hey guys, its all running very nicely and dam it revs fast, ill get some pictures up soon...

but my last problem is the runners arnt switching, i have the 12v connected to the 12v on the battery and the ground connected to the ecu, i connected the ground wire to the chassi/negative and started the car and it was switching... any idea's?

cheers
daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Sure you are using pin 15 on the ECU. Check with a meter that you are getting the correct signal on the wire you connected to the ECU. There should be 0V on the ECU wire (measure from +v to ECU wire until you get to 3800rpm when it should change.
Manifold should be operated until 3800 rpm when it will release.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:05 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

everythings connected right, i got a multimeter on pin 15 and rev'd to 3800 but nothing happened, still said 0v, ill take a photo of how i have it connected to the ecu plug

Cheers
DanieL

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Make sure you've changed over the ED ECU to an EL one.
Your 12v to the VSV (vaccy solenoid valve) should be 12v IGN, not battery (always on). You can source 12v IGN from the ISC valve (red wire).

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:03 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

yes its the el ecu, i dont see what the difference is weither its connected to ignition or the battery, i messured pin 15 with a multimeter connected to 12v battery and got 0v after 3800rpm, then i tried it connected to 12v ignition and still got nothing after 3800rpm

cheers daniel

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 744

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I think you will find the ECU switches from not connected to 0 Volt, you will have to feed your vac switch with 12 Volts Ignition switched and your 0 Volt from the ECU.

Maybe a little planning and reading beforehand out of an EL / EF Gregorys Manual would have helped you.

 

_________________

I post here cos the russian tank driver doesn't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1160

Joined: 25th Apr 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sounds like you have a vacuum leak, check your map sensor and vacuum lines.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:59 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names