Fordmods Logo

my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on 

 

Page 5 of 6 [ 82 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

engine 650
conversion plus thermo fan installation and serpitine steup plus service and radiator hoses etc 820
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

frd906n wrote:
effalcon94 wrote:
lowlane7 he said hes done it before on his ea and he said hes got a wiring harness for it, he said it works and hes done it befoe so im a lil on iffy on what to do. hes already got the au engine in jst not the bbm yet...

cheers anthony



Mate, the au computer wont run the engine, it has different ignition setup, it runn coil packs, also it could be smart shield or smart lock, the ecu plug is different between eb and au,

I think you should get it back off him, imo


frd906n wrote:
Lowlane7 wrote:
effalcon94 wrote:
well hes doin it 2moro so ill pop round and ask him wats the go and ill suggest the el bbm and computer

cheers anthony


When you go there you should ask him generally as if you don't know the answer, and see if he gives you the right answer himself, he may tell you he's got a EL BBM and computer, or he may not even know about this and may get a suprise.(if that makes sense)
he may be using the AU computer though and doing a full AU fit. (loom parts etc)
Basically suss out if he knows what he's doing or not, cos if he dosnt you might wanna take the car back before he starts, realizes his error and stuffs it all up.


Even though if he does the loom swap over etc, it still wont run the car, becuase it has a dizzy unless he decides to run it as a coil pack, alot of head ache



that's what I meant by complete au install, maybe he's doing full loom and doing coil packs.

Sounds like a lot of extra work though...

EDIT: what did he do about the sump clearance? Cut k frame, swap k frame, or cut sump?

+1 as below, good luck mate. Hope it all pans out.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Last edited by Lowlane7 on Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:43 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

good luck then mate and let us no how it works out
edit, lowlane, you just reminded me about the sump i forgot about

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

I only jus thout of it too! Lol
I reckon a sump cut would be easiest, but a K frame cut done right would look more "factory" from underneath.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

hey guys so the mechanic said hes using a modded ed wiring harness, eb computer, and lower part au bbm and ef top of the bbm?

yea or no? lol

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

Ok...
He's gonna get an extra hour of labour out of you though d**k around with that.
Did you ask why he has to us the AU bottom/EF top?
Why not just the whole EF one?

EB computer will work with a RPM switch, I've read that it makes the butterflys work buT still isn't 100%.
he may be trying to save you some money not having to buy a EL computer.

Are you using a J3 chip by chance?

What did he do about the sump clearance?

All up tho, if it all works no probs, 1500 isn't too bad for the completed job.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

why not use a el computer and the el bbm, alot of stuff, i thought u need to use the el computer to gain the most out of using the bbm

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

frd906n wrote:
why not use a el computer and the el bbm, alot of stuff, i thought u need to use the el computer to gain the most out of using the bbm


re read 2 posts up.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i have no idea y hes using half and half but we will soon see when i go and collect this week.
and i have no idea what hes done about the clearance i think hes jst grinded away at the sump but no idea.
if s**t hits the fan ill jst go to u pull it and get a el bbm and walk out with the ecu ;)
but he says hes doen it to his car so its jst a waiting game i think.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 747

Joined: 8th Nov 2009

Ride: ford au

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

you got any pics of the progress

 

_________________

Daily Driver, Series 1 Au Forte

Quote:
Posted by Xcabbi, Does it slap or rattle? Rattle is more to do with timing chains and tensioners. Slap is more to do with lifters, rings, bearings or GENIII boat anchors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

unfortuntely no :/
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1166

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef falcon, el fairmont ghia

Location: Christchurch
New Zealand

i don't see the point of not using the el ecu, as a ed has smartlock anyway and to get the best out of the bbm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2009

Ride: ED XR6, AUII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

effalcon94 wrote:
i have no idea y hes using half and half but we will soon see when i go and collect this week.
and i have no idea what hes done about the clearance i think hes jst grinded away at the sump but no idea.
if s**t hits the fan ill jst go to u pull it and get a el bbm and walk out with the ecu ;)
but he says hes doen it to his car so its jst a waiting game i think.

The top half of the au is slightly different, it doesnt have a bung for the air temp sensor because its part of the map sensor, so that makes sense. You only have to grind a few mm off the sump fins to make it fit .
You should realy use the el ecu , as its only a matter of adding 2 wires from the solenoid to the ecu as the rest is already installed, but you could do that yourself when you get it back :P

 

_________________

ED XR6, LeMans Red, 5-Speed
AUII XR8, Silhouette, 5-Speed

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

yea shyun ill prob do that when i get it back coz im hoping to get the most lumpiest cam with out a stall and use a j3 chip :)

regards
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: my mate has a stock ed and reckons a ef bbm wont fitstait on
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 524

Joined: 15th Aug 2010

Ride: Territory SX TX

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

First up, the cam wont be all that lumpy if your not gunna run a stall. Second, get the EL manifold, ECU, coil and dizzy. Use your EB loom, you have to cut and shut 1 connector for the air temp sensor. Its reasonably easy to chuck a dizzy down the hole Im assuming, in the AU as far as I know the block didnt change. Your mate is making this job harder than it needs to be. Its as easy as taking a s**t to convert to a bbm, you just need to have the right parts. Using the AU motor isnt necesarily a bad thing as they were built better as far as I am concerned, the old 4.0s are to agricultural. Hope it all works out.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 5 of 6  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names