Fordmods Logo

Need Help Kinda Stuck. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Need Help Kinda Stuck.
Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 118

Joined: 29th Jan 2007

Ride: EA fairmont, 4.0litre el xr6 eng

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys just recently my old ea got stolen :( bit unforutnate but insurance went through quick and paid up so now i bought another ea with a el motor in it for $300 the k's are high but the el motor was put in by my local machanic not more hten 4 months ago now the problem is the engine wasnt complete with bbm ecu twin thermos. so i tried to install the missing items myself and found the engine isnt starting i took the bbm out and the ecu and put ea log manifold back on with a eb seiries 1 ecu seems fine now where did i go wrong a couple people checked it and said all the wires were in the right spot but the car wouldnt switch over could this be due to a faulty bbm? is the conversion actualy worth doin? wouldnt it slow the car down if its got lower differentials?

 

_________________

I live my life qtr mile at a time :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

el ECU has smartlock there is something u can buy to trick it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yup, you need a smartlock bypass module..

guy sells them on ebay for 89 bucks..

it will solve all your ills..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:19 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if you fit the bbm and use the ea ecu it will still run..
the ea ecu wont switch the manifold over and the timing maps are different.(but will start and run)
but if you fit a el ecu you will need to by-pass that smartlock rubbish..

if you fit the el ecu with the bbm you will notice the engine will have more low rpm torque and your engine rev limit is raised to 5700 rpm
ive done it and im happy with the results...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names