Fordmods Logo

Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3316

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

what? ran it without some form of water in it? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

 

_________________

AU2 Forte daily driver:Congo Green, lowered on Pedders SLs, Tint. SOON: Stereo, TE50 wheels, AU1 XR kit. EA SVO: AU motor, Wade cam, vernier gear, Atomik head studs, ported head, Snort manifold, 38mm external gate, T70, 60LB injectors, BTR auto built by ATS, TCE 2800rpm high stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Online

Posts: 1060

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '89 EA 's' Sedan '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

89.SVO wrote:
what? ran it without some form of water in it? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:



i will agree with that ... WHY ???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:46 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14141

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere in sydney
NSW, Australia

Mad2 wrote:
89.SVO wrote:
what? ran it without some form of water in it? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:



i will agree with that ... WHY ???


its not a bad thing, its an old school method, the engine/ head doesnt get extremely hot imediatly so wont do any harm.. the purpose of it is to run it for a few mins to get the head and block warm as it helps with gasket adhesion, you then let it cool down completely before putting water in it..
this was a method i was taught when i was an aprentice for using composit type head gaskets..

 

_________________

ED XR6 TURBO, long Gone
AU FAIRMONT GHIA, "sold"
AU XR8 220kw 5 SPEED scratch that.. NOW AUTO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 6235

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

It appears that some of you didn't read what I posted....so here it is.......

When all back together and ready to run....have NO water in the cooling system....start engine, and feel for heat at the head near No.1 s/plug, when heat is detected, like about 40*C, turn off.....and let cool...do this about 3 times.
Let cool off, and fill with ordinary water, and NO rad cap fitted, and run till op. temp on the gauge.
Let cool....do this twice....check for leaks.

Nowhere in there does it say, run the engine till near melting point, eh?
40*C is warm to touch....the human body core temp is like 38*C.....OK?
Thanks for the back up TROYMAN...... 8-)

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3316

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

and the OP said this "Awesome! it's all back together and is practically running mint when I ran it without water to bond the gasket it got a bit hot the first time (around the back of the head)"

GOT A BIT HOT. Also, that method may have worked back in the days of cast iron everything

 

_________________

AU2 Forte daily driver:Congo Green, lowered on Pedders SLs, Tint. SOON: Stereo, TE50 wheels, AU1 XR kit. EA SVO: AU motor, Wade cam, vernier gear, Atomik head studs, ported head, Snort manifold, 38mm external gate, T70, 60LB injectors, BTR auto built by ATS, TCE 2800rpm high stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:13 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14141

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere in sydney
NSW, Australia

ive used that method on every head gasket ive ever done, and even in the "old days" there were cars with iron blocks and alloy heads, alloy block with alloy heads, alloy heads are not a new thing, especially on older japanese and eurpean cars....

 

_________________

ED XR6 TURBO, long Gone
AU FAIRMONT GHIA, "sold"
AU XR8 220kw 5 SPEED scratch that.. NOW AUTO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 568

Joined: 4th May 2007

Ride: 1992 EBII Fairmont

Location: Aga
VIC, Australia

Well I've used this method and vouch for it entirely. As long as you're wary of it overheating I don't see how it could damage anything. So far the car is running great with no leaks! I've ran it for approx 10hrs since the job, it has irontite in it atm. It does have a noisy lifter that seems to come and go that's all. When the front of the head got warm to the touch the first time the issue was the back of the head had heated up faster and was hotter and I bet I probably ran it for longer than cjh would've, (i ran it 2-3min from cold until it reached around 40 degrees).

The last gasket I did I didn't do this procedure and had oil seep out the side between the gasket and the head this was a graphite one and I'm now using an MLS (without any hylomar or adehives) which is even more prone to leakage than the graphite. The graphite gasket was mint and not split when I removed it. Although I did stuff the headbolts on that job I also did this time too :lol: ended up throwing out that stupid torque gauge and went by feel in the end. Time will tell I guess and if it comes off again I'll let ya's know if I find any hotspots!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3316

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

and i've done many head gaskets, at home and work, and never used this method. Sounds unnecessary. But each to their own............

 

_________________

AU2 Forte daily driver:Congo Green, lowered on Pedders SLs, Tint. SOON: Stereo, TE50 wheels, AU1 XR kit. EA SVO: AU motor, Wade cam, vernier gear, Atomik head studs, ported head, Snort manifold, 38mm external gate, T70, 60LB injectors, BTR auto built by ATS, TCE 2800rpm high stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Online

Posts: 1060

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '89 EA 's' Sedan '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

cjh wrote:
Nowhere in there does it say, run the engine till near melting point, eh?
40*C is warm to touch....the human body core temp is like 38*C.....OK?
Thanks for the back up TROYMAN...... 8-)



i was just asking as too why!


does not no6 run hotter than no1??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 4553

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

89.SVO wrote:
and i've done many head gaskets, at home and work, and never used this method. Sounds unnecessary. But each to their own............



As is painting your boot garnish.
As is having WILDEB plates on a stocker and telling everyone its cause your name is B.WILDE and then selling the plates with said EB.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3316

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Matt_jew wrote:
89.SVO wrote:
and i've done many head gaskets, at home and work, and never used this method. Sounds unnecessary. But each to their own............



As is painting your boot garnish.
As is having WILDEB plates on a stocker and telling everyone its cause your name is B.WILDE and then selling the plates with said EB.


lol. someone still living in the past? Someone a little butthurt? k lol.
FYI; WILDEB wasn't "a stocker"

You'll get over it one day.

 

_________________

AU2 Forte daily driver:Congo Green, lowered on Pedders SLs, Tint. SOON: Stereo, TE50 wheels, AU1 XR kit. EA SVO: AU motor, Wade cam, vernier gear, Atomik head studs, ported head, Snort manifold, 38mm external gate, T70, 60LB injectors, BTR auto built by ATS, TCE 2800rpm high stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 4553

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

89.SVO wrote:
Matt_jew wrote:
89.SVO wrote:
and i've done many head gaskets, at home and work, and never used this method. Sounds unnecessary. But each to their own............



As is painting your boot garnish.
As is having WILDEB plates on a stocker and telling everyone its cause your name is B.WILDE and then selling the plates with said EB.


lol. someone still living in the past? Someone a little butthurt? k lol.
FYI; WILDEB wasn't "a stocker"

You'll get over it one day.



Its not a case of living in the past. Its a case of your f**k and excuse to justify it was that epic it has gone down in the history books. People will still be reminding you of it in 20 years time it was that classic.There is no getting away from it.
Nah no butthurt from here. I tried to book some a*** to get a bit of butthurt but all units were already booked out and driving through you.
Maybe the plates on your SVO should be GOATSE?

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3316

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

My f**k? K. I ordered those plates before i even owned the EB. And if the guy who bought it wanted the plates and paid extra for them, who am i to not want the cash.

Also, mofo you're 36. Act your age, not your shoe size :lol:

 

_________________

AU2 Forte daily driver:Congo Green, lowered on Pedders SLs, Tint. SOON: Stereo, TE50 wheels, AU1 XR kit. EA SVO: AU motor, Wade cam, vernier gear, Atomik head studs, ported head, Snort manifold, 38mm external gate, T70, 60LB injectors, BTR auto built by ATS, TCE 2800rpm high stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to redo headgasket. Do I have to recmahine the head?
Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 6235

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Mad2 wrote:
cjh wrote:
Nowhere in there does it say, run the engine till near melting point, eh?
40*C is warm to touch....the human body core temp is like 38*C.....OK?
Thanks for the back up TROYMAN...... 8-)



i was just asking as too why!


does not no6 run hotter than no1??


There is no water in it.....so they will heat up reasonably close to each other.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IanG and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names