Fordmods Logo

Neutral switch 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Neutral switch
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2009

Ride: ED XR6, AUII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've now got a manual ecu in the car and was wondering how you go about connecting the neutral switch on the gearbox to the ECU transmission selector (Pin 30). I know at the moment the neutral switch is plugged into the loom with the reverse lights as the guide by voxace said. What does the neutral switch conenct to in that loom, as it isnt pin 30 of the ecu?
Cheers.

 

_________________

ED XR6, LeMans Red, 5-Speed
AUII XR8, Silhouette, 5-Speed

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Neutral switch
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:38 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the neutral switch uses the same wires that were used in the auto gear position switch..and do use pin 30..

are you using a manual box loom or a modified auto loom??

if the neutral switch is not connected the ecu thinks its in neutral anyway....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Neutral switch
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2009

Ride: ED XR6, AUII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm using the auto one, so i took the rectangular plug apart and separated it into the 2 reverse wires and 2 neutral switch wires. Should i just connect the neutral switch wires to where you put the 7k ohm resistor on an auto ecu? Just trying to get it setup so its 0v neutral and 5v in gear.

 

_________________

ED XR6, LeMans Red, 5-Speed
AUII XR8, Silhouette, 5-Speed

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Neutral switch
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:58 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yes.. if you remove the 7k ohm resister one wire will be 5v and the other is signal to the ecu.
so basically these 2 wires go to the neutral switch, in gear bridges the wires sending 5v to the ecu, neutral opens the curcuit giving 0v..for neutral..

tbh it really does bugger all, best thing to do is just remove the 7 k ohm resistor leaving the ecu thinking its in neutral....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Neutral switch
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2009

Ride: ED XR6, AUII XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK thanks for the help. I joined the neutral wires to the ecu and im getting 4v in gear (close enough :P) and 0v neutral, so all good there. I'll see if there is any difference.

 

_________________

ED XR6, LeMans Red, 5-Speed
AUII XR8, Silhouette, 5-Speed

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names