Fordmods Logo

Newbie needs help checking the thermostat! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Newbie needs help checking the thermostat!
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:04 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 4

Joined: 5th Jun 2007

Ride: Fairmont Ghia

Location: Thomastown
VIC, Australia

Hey there,

I have just bought an EF Fairmont Ghia 4.0ltr and during my driving so far, the temp gauge does not make it to the normal area of the gauge. Is this normal for this car?

Is it possible to check if there is a thermostat installed without removing the housing?

Thanks for helping out a newbie!!!

 

_________________

Life’s too short to be a pr!ck, which is why I only read decent forums, like FORDMODS!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

when you start it and its cold, you shouldnt see any water moving in the coolant resivour until the thermo opens (~10mins). if you do then theres no thermostat in there.

my temp sits on the line underneath the L, and dosent even get there on a cold day. dont be worried about how low it is, youll know about it if its too hot!

good luck

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:36 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

It's only 2x 10mm bolts to do the thermostat.. worth having a look. It sounds like there isnt one installed, its busted, or someone has cut out the guts.

In any case, inspect and replace :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:21 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 134

Joined: 26th Apr 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

undo the bolts & have a look
you want to have a thermostat installed
running too cold increases engine wear, as oil needs to get to temp before all it's lubricating qualities are exhibited

 

_________________

95 EF Wagon, Dedicated Gas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 597

Joined: 4th May 2007

Ride: 1992 EBII Fairmont

Location: Aga
VIC, Australia

Could take longer in winter.

Mine took 30 minutes the other day to drop.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

they are cheap enough to just take the housing off, chuck a new one in regardless of what is or isnt in there atm and put it back together.

20 mins later your all done and should be right

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: All Fixed - thanks everyone
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 4

Joined: 5th Jun 2007

Ride: Fairmont Ghia

Location: Thomastown
VIC, Australia

I replaced the thermostat (and the housing while I was at it - cost less than $50 all up) and could not beilieve the crap that was in there!

Anyway, the thermo gauge sits right on the A of normal and the heater is working perfectly. Celarly the thermostat was stuffed somehow.

I flushed the system while I was at it and could not believe all the crap that was in there. I'm starting to wonder how long since it was serviced before I bought the bloody thing.

Thanks again.

 

_________________

Life’s too short to be a pr!ck, which is why I only read decent forums, like FORDMODS!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 597

Joined: 4th May 2007

Ride: 1992 EBII Fairmont

Location: Aga
VIC, Australia

Make sure you fill up the block before putting the thermostat in.

I didn't do this and may have blown a head gasket
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:17 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 597

Joined: 4th May 2007

Ride: 1992 EBII Fairmont

Location: Aga
VIC, Australia

???

1. Before putting in new thermostat fill the engine up with coolant through the thermostat housing, when it's at the top put the new thermostat in.
2. Then fill it up through surge tank.

If you just put the thermostat in and fill from the surge tank the thermostat will block it since the water won't be 91 degrees. Meaning the head will be bone dry and just be full of air.

When the air finally heats up unheated cold water pours onto the head destroying the gasket.

Which I think is what happened to me, unsure yet
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

yeh i'm leaving that alone.

yet, I agree somewhat to the trapped air.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

You can put the thermostat and everything together and fill up from the surge tank - the block will still fill - by virtue of the water flow exiting the thermostat and coming in through the water pump inlet.

Vapour locks can be persistant and annoying - here's what I learn't to fill your cooling system properly (works every time):

-Half fill the system with coolant mix, heater on full heat,
-Run engine at 1500-2000 RPM (a cable tie between the throttle and idle screw is handy for this)
-Leave cap off, very slowly add coolant mix till overflow fills up
-keep running til engine temp increases (about 15-20 mins), top up if needed, put cap on.

You can check for correct coolant concentration using test strips, e.g. castrol - don't rely solely on the coolant container directions.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names