Fordmods Logo

non-vct into vct xr6? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 6:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys, what has to be done to put a non-vct au motor into a vct xr6?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 6:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

ECU re-flash?

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

is it as simple as using a j3 chip? everything else will bolt up as normal?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

I think the AU ECU's have to be flashed

But the motor is essentially the same

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

But wht do you want the non VCT anyway?

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Don't need to do anything. It wont get you optimum performance with the other motor but I guess by the fact you are converting backwards this is not a major issue anyway.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

its not backwards ..the normal au motor has way more potential as theres virtually no big cams available for the vct..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: non-vct into vct xr6?
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

You don't need to change the motor to a non VCT to put in a big CAM. A standard cam will fit the VCT head if you run the standard timing gear making it a non VCT setup. I think Troyman is running this setup.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names