Fordmods Logo

Not sure if BBM is switching 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 10:14 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 61

Joined: 8th May 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ford Falcon EB II

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Hey guys,

Basically I'm not certain if the BBM is switching, when the car is turned on I do see the piston leg move, but when I plant it it's so sluggy down low but when it reaches around the point where it suppose to switch (3800RPM) it goes great.

Now if I zip tie the runners to short, it goes amazingly well but I have no top end, I've been fiddling around with the vacuum lines for a while and just not sure what the go is.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

 

_________________

~EB II~AU series III engine~4499s~high flow cat~2.5 inch exhaust~BBM~Shift kit stage 2~J3 chip~K&N pod~
Next mod: 3.9 LSD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 10:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

You should be able to see it switch when you rev the car

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 10:28 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 61

Joined: 8th May 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ford Falcon EB II

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

I do see it switch when I free rev, but the car isn't under load?

It's like it isn't holding it to short runners.

 

_________________

~EB II~AU series III engine~4499s~high flow cat~2.5 inch exhaust~BBM~Shift kit stage 2~J3 chip~K&N pod~
Next mod: 3.9 LSD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 10:54 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Sounds like its not holding under load. Will hold the BBM closed at idle and free rev because there is no load and plenty of vacuum.

Behind the washer bottle is a one way valve in the vacuum lines. Little blue and black barrel thing. These things fail as they age and cause the problems you are having.

Just take it out of the line and see if its a one way or 2 way valve. If its a 2 way, its rooted and you'll have to find a replacement.

Edit: Just realised your car is a bit of everything. If you're using the the factory BBM vacuum switch, the valve will be somewhere near it. If if doesn't have it, then it will need it to work properly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 10:58 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 61

Joined: 8th May 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ford Falcon EB II

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

That's my thoughts exactly arm.

I know that blue/black valve you're talking about, I did have it on my line to manifold, it did only allow air one way so I guess it was working? I took it off last night to see if it would make any difference which it didn't.

I'll fit it back on once I get back home.

 

_________________

~EB II~AU series III engine~4499s~high flow cat~2.5 inch exhaust~BBM~Shift kit stage 2~J3 chip~K&N pod~
Next mod: 3.9 LSD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 11:04 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

I dont think its supposed to go on the line to the manifold, but somewhere on the main vacuum supply line.

It's to keep all the main lines pressurised and the vacuum canister full in low vacuum situations.

If you PM me your email, I have the pages from the factory manual that show how it all hooks up.

A mate and I did the same thing to his EB and we had to put it in a weird spot to get it working properly. But we copied the manual and quickly worked it out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 11:13 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 61

Joined: 8th May 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ford Falcon EB II

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Ah I see, yeah I sent you a pm, that factory manual would come in real handy.

Appreciate the information.

 

_________________

~EB II~AU series III engine~4499s~high flow cat~2.5 inch exhaust~BBM~Shift kit stage 2~J3 chip~K&N pod~
Next mod: 3.9 LSD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 11:15 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

I'm just trying to find the pages.

I have an EF manual, but it seems to skip it, whereas it was in an EL manual I had.

Just checking an AU manual now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 12:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 843

Joined: 20th Feb 2010

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Elizibif Norf (Local Spelling!!)
SA, Australia

Trav1s wrote:
that factory manual would come in real handy.

Here,
http://www.fordmods.com/fordmods-technical-documents-diy-f38/ea-eb-ed-ef-el-nf-nl-ltd-workshop-manual-t86156.html
this might help.

 

_________________

dc_todd wrote:
Cheap pads squeal like cheap hookers, and you can take that to the bank.


Au Fairmont Ghia
My (Old) 95 EF Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Not sure if BBM is switching
Posted: Wed May 25, 2011 12:43 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Tis not the factory manual and doesn't have anything about the vacuum setup in it unfortunately.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:40 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names