Fordmods Logo

O/F Sensor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: O/F Sensor
Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

got a overflow bottle sensor off Uglybob on the last ford cruise in W.A and just got around to installing it today, i put the globe in the place plugged it in and the light just flashed, so i installed it just in case of conductivity needed but nope still a flashing light, Ugly suggested that there maybe a fuse, can any one help me on if there is anything extra to add to get it working.

The dash has the red radiator symbol but there was no globe holder and the hole was covered up.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

anyone?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Are you talking about the reservoir low sensor for the cooling system, or the washer fluid one?

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

afaik the low coolant light on the dash illuminates a red square type thing with a fan in it? is this the light coming on?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

If you bought it off of bob its probably been places you dont want to know... Which may or may not explain why it isnt working...

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Just checked my sensor - it will flash if its unplugged, as well as if its bridged with a wire, or low on coolant. The value of my sensor is 180 ohms, with the correct coolant level.

Unplug your sensor, and check if it is reading a similar value with a multimeter. Theres a thread in the technical docs for EA-ED? - http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=45 - but i don't know if its applicable with the EF, being a resistance value sensor.

Check if the plug is actually wired to the cluster, and perhaps, connect a 180 ohm resistor to the loom plug (or potentiometer set to same), and see if the light stops flashing.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah it's the radiator fluid level bottle sensor and yes it's the little radiator with a fan in it that's red that flashes whether it's plugged in or unplugged so i'm thinkin it may be stoofed as i think it came from uglybob's wreck he got.

oh well thems the brakes ya get.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

if it was covered up, it must be a low series model, I know the EF GLi with ABS has the correct wires in the engine bay, but theres no wire from the firewall loom to the dash!

so add 1 wire red with yellow from memory (ef el)

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Krytox wrote:
if it was covered up, it must be a low series model, I know the EF GLi with ABS has the correct wires in the engine bay, but theres no wire from the firewall loom to the dash!

so add 1 wire red with yellow from memory (ef el)


How do you mean covered up?

the plug for mine was hanging out from the loom in the correct place ready to go but from the loom i have no idea where it goes!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names