Fordmods Logo

Odom stoped working??? help plz 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Odom stoped working??? help plz
Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey gus got a eb falcon sereies 11 and my odom has stoped working wonderif ne 1 here have had that prob and if so what could i do to fix it.


the lowdown on the car is a eb with a el motor hybrid running a t5 gear box

i have pulled the cluster out and checked everything is pluged in everything else works ie
rpm , spedo, temp , fuel , oil pressure , battery voltage just not the odom .

ne help would be great guys/


cheers HaZZa
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

you will find you have a plastic gear that has a few teeth missing inside the speedo gauge. Happens when you reset the trip meter while moving. The gear costs about $10.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:31 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

does it really matter?

heheheh

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1798

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: FG 50th Anni G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
does it really matter?

heheheh


hehe my EA did exactly the same thing and i didnt think it mattered... as my 233,000km had been the same for about 9 months :P :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:02 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

not really although it is handy to keep trck of services plu i only put a new motor in 6 months ago fully rebulit so like to know how man ks she's done.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Odom-stoped-working-help-plz
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2

Joined: 8th Dec 2007

Location: WHYALLA
SA, Australia

I am trying to locate a source for the worn part. Local Ford dealer says its no longer listed. Any suggestions plz.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 24th Oct 2007

Location: yorke peninsula
SA, Australia

get a aftermaket ford replacement gear from a auto shop see how you go
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

or just go for a 2nd cluster with roughly the same k's on it. can change it over in about 15-20min and theres no frigin' around with trying to pull the cluster appart and risk breaking something else

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Do a search for "cluster gear" or "speedo gear" etc and try to find the post from a Perth member who knows where to get them there, $20 I think.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

I had one fixed by a instrument repair shop a few years ago. cost about 80 dollars by memory, I think it was cheaper if you just took in the cluster.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

macca13 wrote:
I had one fixed by a instrument repair shop a few years ago. cost about 80 dollars by memory, I think it was cheaper if you just took in the cluster.


may as well upgrade to an fairmont/sports cluster at that price.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:04 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
macca13 wrote:
I had one fixed by a instrument repair shop a few years ago. cost about 80 dollars by memory, I think it was cheaper if you just took in the cluster.


may as well upgrade to an fairmont/sports cluster at that price.


It already was a fairmont cluster!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: speedo cog
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have three new cogs available for $20 incl express post anywhere in aust. just reply here and reserve your cog. There is a picture guide also on how to change the cog available. These are plastic cogs not the rubber ones.

I suggest that when you do the cog be sure to check the bulbs for the warning lights as two of mine where blown and I didn't know otherwise ie-low coolant level, these bulbs are available at any auto parts shop or servo ect.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speedo cog
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 19

Joined: 22nd Oct 2007

Ride: ED XR6

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

aristopwr wrote:
I have three new cogs available for $20 incl express post anywhere in aust. just reply here and reserve your cog. There is a picture guide also on how to change the cog available. These are plastic cogs not the rubber ones.

PM sent!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: speedo cog
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

PM replied
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], longlivethefalcon, PhilsMont and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names