Fordmods Logo

Oil pressure gague 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Oil pressure gague
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Ride: LTD

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi All well sadly the LTD met its death and i just picked up a EF XR6 tickford edition this week

car is in immaculate condition only ove noticed in the past 2 days the oil pressure gauge is sitting right up on number 7 at idle it will drop a couple of lines and in the course of driving fluctuate

it was ok when i picked up th car in tuesday but since then its been playing up

could it be a pressure switch playing up?

thank again in advance plus has anyone done the conversion to trip computer in that model how easy / hard / fiddly is it any feedback welcome

thanks again

 

_________________

Ridin in style LTD Style

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:34 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 97

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: 98 F.B.T

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

Hi this is normal you can buy another sender from ford but why waste money.. As long as the gauge doesn't drop it the red it's all ok...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:44 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

get another eart wire from theblock to the -Ve of the battery

had this on my au

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

most likely the sender is stuffed, or as was mentioned, a bad earth.
are all of your gauges doing stupid things or just the oil pressure?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:17 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Ride: LTD

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

just the oil pressure

and the water resivor sensor

the car yard i have purchaed the car from is willing to fix it all ofr free which is good but yeah car sles men being car sales man can somtimes be shady so its good to go in with some informed "ammo"

 

_________________

Ridin in style LTD Style

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

xygthoph3 wrote:
Hi this is normal you can buy another sender from ford but why waste money.. As long as the gauge doesn't drop it the red it's all ok...

if the sensor is dodgy, it may well be sending a false high pressure signal to the gauge

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Ride: LTD

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

how mucuh would a new sensor cost from ford?

 

_________________

Ridin in style LTD Style

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:13 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 398

Joined: 9th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have an EL Fairmont Ghia with Tickford Motor.

When I start the car, the oil pressure is up around three quarters, as you start driving, the oil pressure at idle sits just above the red. Then when you accelerate it goes up to about half way. is this normal?

Sits pretty low at idle 650rpm.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia, extractors, 2.5 inch system, high flow cat, K&N panel filter, AUXR Snorkel, 3.45diff 0-100km/h 6.9secs

SS COMMODORE LS1 282rwkw, awesome power

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:57 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EB V8 wrote:
I have an EL Fairmont Ghia with Tickford Motor.

When I start the car, the oil pressure is up around three quarters, as you start driving, the oil pressure at idle sits just above the red. Then when you accelerate it goes up to about half way. is this normal?

Sits pretty low at idle 650rpm.


yes normal

idle is should be around 750rpm

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 4th Jul 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've got an EL fairmont Ghia and had a similar problem , it use to go right down to the red on a warm day with the A/C on. In the end i tested the alternator and when the alternator is under load with A/C and everything on it was only putting out 10.5V. The internal Regulator on them die sometimes. I put a New Bosch one on and all is perfect, it sits nice and high now. Check your alternator first!

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont Ghia I6
EL GT's Lowered
Pacemakers 2 1/2" cat back,
EL GT air intake, Modified air box, K&N filter
3.45 LSD NOW MANUAL!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names