Fordmods Logo

oil pressure hook up 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: oil pressure hook up
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

can anyone explain to me if possable with pics how to hook up and oil pressure gauge, i got no idea where to plug the sender in. LOL its for an ef i6
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

http://fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=49384

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

big help, thank you
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

just quick question, for the air ratio, when you say "splice into the oxygen sensor" do you mean the wires that are connected to the sensor or the plug and on the gauge i have to cut the end sensor off, right?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Glowing EF wrote:
just quick question, for the air ratio, when you say "splice into the oxygen sensor" do you mean the wires that are connected to the sensor or the plug and on the gauge i have to cut the end sensor off, right?


Connect the gauge to the 02 sensor wire at the ECU harness, will save running a wire into the engine bay
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

which ones are the 02 wire in the ECU harness?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EF 6cyl Ecu pin 35, Dark Green / Dark Blue wire, 2nd row of pins, 9 wires in from the end
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

The only problem is, E-Series use a narrowband o2 sensor, for an accurate AFR, you need a wideband o2 sensor

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

66 coupe so is it just those 2 wires the dark green and blue and thats it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

one wire mate, dark green with a (dark) blue stripe
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

so cut the end part off the cable for the oil pressure and connect it to the dark green wire? right
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Glowing EF wrote:
so cut the end part off the cable for the oil pressure and connect it to the dark green wire? right


If im readng right then no BUT

If it says splice that means remove some on the wire insulation and solder another wire to that and then use tape to insulate the wire again.

The other way to do it is cut the wire and strip all three and solder them all together BUT to make it neat i would put 2 wires together and join that to the single wire.

Ben

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hang on, you talking about the A/F ratio gauge or an oil gauge?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol in regards to 66 coupe , oil pressure
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Glowing EF wrote:
just quick question, for the air ratio, when you say "splice into the oxygen sensor" do you mean the wires that are connected to the sensor or the plug and on the gauge i have to cut the end sensor off, right?


Well whats this air ratio / oxygen sensor post about.

Oil pressure you need to cut into the oil gauge wire behind the cluster, and use only a single oil pressure gauge, therefore if theres one in the cluster you need to disconnect it, or if you currently only have an oil light, then you need to disconnect that and use the gauge with the correct sender.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names