Fordmods Logo

Oil pressure switch 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Oil pressure switch
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

Hey all,
I have just swapped the instrument cluster in my EF from a GLi one to a chaser one.
How do I change the oil pressure switch??
I have the sensor in my posession ($45 from fraud) and have NFI how to access the current switch.
What tools would be needed??
Any help would be appreciated
Cheers
Chris

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

you'll need a deep socket - can't remember the size, although i believe auto stores stock a specific oil pressure switch one!

its on the side of the block, under the intake manifold. has a blue(?) wire coming out of it :)

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

they're a prick to get off if you don't have the deep socket.
i ended up not using one, but it took me forever.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i changed mine today cos it was leaking oil out of it!

i used a 1" deep socket, did the job, just GO SLOW, you dont wanna cross thread or strip it. you'll be f**k then lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

The Oil Switch is a 1" socket which is used in a GLi and Futura.

However the Chaser and Fairmont series "Oil Sender" is larger and you can get away with a 1+1/16th single Hex deep Impact socket, or the correct oil sender remover socket (a single hex Kincrome brand or ABV is about 14bux and well worth it for future uses.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

$2 flea-market spanner cut in half did the job for me :)

Of course i'm running oil switch AND oil sender. Old light segment is still in the guage version of my chaser cluster, so why not have the best of both worlds.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:54 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 350

Joined: 22nd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

how would you have both a sender and a switch??

 

_________________

EF Futura factory 5 spd
Pacemaker 4480 w/ Redback cat back 2 1/2
RPD Rspec4 cam with Ported Head
RPD Rocker Gear
RPD MS2 ECU

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

You cannot run Both unless you splice into the sensor wire and that would give the r\wrong readings on BOTH the guage and the light :twisted: :twisted:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 168

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Ride: XY Fairmont

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

You can if you fit a T piece to the block and run a guage sender and a light switch.

 

_________________

Real Cars have Chrome Bars

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you'd have to use the existing wire for one, and a new wire ran for the other.
with the falcons, dosen't the light come on if the oil pressure drops down low?
why would you need a switch if it does that?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 8:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I was haing the low oil pressure blues a little while ago. I didn't know if it was oil pressure or an electrical problem. I had the pressure guage setup, so I added a T piece, ran another wire to a pressure switch, and connected it to the light in the dash that is used for the oil light on non-guaged falcons. (Used a spare pin on the cluster plug, did some PCB track work etc)

Turns out I had low oil pressure, as both would then activate at roughly the same time. Changed to Penrite HPR15 and all was good :)

Late reply - been off net for almost 2 weeks. Telstra are a**hole.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names