Fordmods Logo

oscilloscope - is this crap? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

been there done that :)

I have have written my own software that calculates acceleration, speed, torque, power, etc. Problem is my laptop shat itself a few months back and I have only just started working on it again.

Image

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

is that using the scoundcard scope?

that looks cool....drops of quickly after 5000rpm eh..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yes, the program reads data live from the soundcard. It interfaces to the diagnostic port (tacho pin), passes the signal through a voltage divider and into the MIC socket of the sound card.

I probably backed off at 5k

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

so your using the tacho output instead of the speedo sender....any advantage/disadvantage....whats the signal like on tacho output?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Both are square wave.

The disadvantage of using a speedo is that as I mentioned the sound card doesnt read it properly below 4kph. So as you take off, nothing happens for a split second, then you get garbage input as the sound card starts picking up the frequency, then it works. For the tacho the frequency range is better suited to the sound card input (ranges from 60hz to 600hz).

It is easy enough to convert between kph and rpm as long as you know what gear your in. You need both kph and rpm to do the interesting graphs.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

thats really some cool s**t youve come up with there....

inspired me to go to jaycar tomorrow...

the speedo sensor would be good for some other things like 1/4 mile...

Q. can it datalog continuosly as long as the hard drive doesnt fill up?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah, both ways have advantages.

Front ABS sensor is very nice as well as it is not messed up by wheelspin.

and yeah you can record more or less continuously, but it generates HUGE amounts of data and can take a long time to crunch the numbers even on fast computers.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
You need both kph and rpm to do the interesting graphs.


can we see some more of them?
is possible to do 2 separate channels by using a stereo plug?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You can use a stereo plug if you have a line-in. My laptop only had a MIC so I only have one channel.

As for other graphs:
http://stockstandard.homeip.net/VDyno/acceleration.jpg
http://stockstandard.homeip.net/VDyno/distance.jpg
http://stockstandard.homeip.net/VDyno/speed.jpg
http://stockstandard.homeip.net/VDyno/torque.jpg

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:04 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names