Fordmods Logo

oscilloscope - is this crap? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: oscilloscope - is this crap?
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

looks pretty cool i think it would do the job even mite be good for a little bit of diagnostic work. better than the ones we used at tafe tho.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

yeah it looks good...but its shipping from china...

might get ripped.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Jaycar sell similar ones for about the same price (when you add shipping)

Also if you are interesting in frequencies and waveforms (instead of voltages) you can use you PC sound card as an oscilloscope. Very cheap and come in handy (depending on what frequencies your interested in).

BTW: Why post this in the I6 section?

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

wasnt sure where it was best suited to post, might interest other people as well...

soundcard idea is worth looking into....is it DIY or can you buy them?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You can DIY or buy kits.

The sound card will let you read in any AC waves, but only at low voltages (0.2 to 2V depending on what plug you use). If you want to look at higher voltages you need to use a voltage divider (which is 2 resistors). Then you download some software off the net, hook it up to your computer, and look at the pretty line.

Not nearly as useful as a real CRO. You can look at the shape of the waves, calculate frequencies, but it is a little tricky to measure voltages (need to calibrate it against a known level) and you cant do DC or anything less than about 5-10hz.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

would it be capable of monitoring the 02 sensor and speedo sensor?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ive used one on the speedo - works above ~4kph

O2 sensor - sort of, but not really.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Ive used one on the speedo - works above ~4kph

O2 sensor - sort of, but not really.


do you know the frequency range of the speedo sender, its a square wave yeah?

whys it crappy for the 02? signal to fast?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The O2 sensor is not a frequency based sensor. It will however produce a wave around stoich as it flicks back and forth between rich and lean, but at lean and rich it will be a DC voltage, so the sound card cant tell the difference.

Cant remember exactly what the speedo sender is, but from memory it is around 12000 pulses per km. Ill see if I wrote it down somewhere.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

had an idea, if you feed a say 20Hz (or whatever its lowest can handle) signal into it and then measured for eg the 02....would the 20hz and 02 signals add together so then it could measure DC signals....maybe?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

nope, sound cards have circuitry in them that strip of the DC component of the input.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

but say if it didnt would my idea work?
as you can probably tell im pretty s**t at electronics..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

If it didnt have the extra circuitry it would work, but then you wouldnt need to add the 20hz anyway.

found my speedo interfacing stuff... 50kph ~ 177hz, can work the rest out from that.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

that is slow eh....but at least it would be easy to datalog.....which is one of the reasons for buying the scope...

one of my ideas is to datalog the speedo sender or front wheel ABS sensor, spreadsheet the results and workout acceleration times...would be good for comparing mods

all youd need is a couple of runs 0-100

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:30 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names