Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

VIC, Australia

okay, with tax return coming up, i kind of have to do some thinking

do i leave my car at straight petrol
change it to dual fuel
or go straight gas (save boot space)

when the engine is tuned for gas, do i lose power? is it much? is it noticable?

any opinions will serve well...
and prices

cheers

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:04 am 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

NSW, Australia

There has been plenty of LPG posts lately, so have a search - there is an Excel spreadsheet posted that you can use to calculate how long it would take to pay for itself, etc. AFAIK, from 2011 there will be an excise of 12c/litre added (there's currently no excise on LPG), but that is supposed to be capped (Hmmmm). Otherwise, in my area over the last 4 yrs, LPG has risen and fallen in price - LPG is currently about 3-4c cheaper than in 2001. I've been running LPG for the last 11 years, and I guess I'm biased, I wouldn't go back to petrol only. You'll certainly notice your oil will still be relatively clean on oil changes, plus spark plugs last considerably longer (provided they were decent to start off with). I tend to think the longer we depend on petrol, the more we'll be held to ransom by the towelheads . . . .

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: No Fords current

TAS, Australia

Depends how much driving you do. I woudln't sutff around with duel fuel, petrol or straight gas. By the end of this year I plan to have removed my petrol system.

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

VIC, Australia

twr7cx wrote: