porting and polishing 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: porting and polishing
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

WA, Australia

Is it worthwhile taking off the casting marks in the ports and intake manifold or will extra airflow be negligable?

Experienced opinions only please :wink:

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 1:09 am 
Parts Gopher

Ride: EF XR6 5sp

NSW, Australia

im no expert or particularly experience for that matter, but common sense tells me removing anything that upsets air flow is worth getting rid of.

ive always done it when ive got an inlet manifold off the maotor for whatever reason.

cant say its given power increases but hey it keeps me out of trouble for an hour or so.

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:12 am 
Getting Side Ways

WA, Australia

yes i can see the potential but how restrictive are the casting dags?

Also what is the process in match porting? you would use mechanics die to see where they are overlapping?

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:21 am 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

WA, Australia

not so much as restrictive more of a hinderence to airflow swirl

match porting from what i know is where the ports are matched to the gaskets

RIP SCOTT

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:10 am 
Getting Side Ways

TAS, Australia

Is it gonna be a DIY job?.

You'll find most of the work in a basic porting is focused on reducing those restrictions which are caused by obstructing intake air flow as it transitions from the intake manifold to a smaller intake port entry in the head; 2) casting bumps, ridges or other marks, such as those you may find on port floors or roofs; 3) sharp edges, such as those you will find around the valve guide bosses at the top of the valve pockets; and 4) the point where the intake port floor curves down to the valve seat.