Fordmods Logo

Power steering pressure switch 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Power steering pressure switch
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

Has any one had a problem with the power steering pressure switch leaking on their falcon? Its happened to me twice, loosing all power steering fluid, this time i just removed it and pluged up the hole also bridged the terminals on the switch input wires. Is this a common problem for falcons?

96' EF II Fairmont Ghia

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:14 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 44

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Location: Cheltenham
VIC, Australia

Yeah, mine crapped itself,not leaking-just not working. What it's for is to tell the ECU to boost the revs when the motor is under load at idle speeds - when parking on full lock whith air con on etc. You may have idle or stalling problems without it.
Rick
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

ricrat wrote:
Yeah, mine crapped itself,not leaking-just not working. What it's for is to tell the ECU to boost the revs when the motor is under load at idle speeds - when parking on full lock whith air con on etc. You may have idle or stalling problems without it.
Rick
The things been more trouble then its worth i'll see how it goes. the ecu also needs to see an imput from the switch to put the car into a highway lean mode to improve ecconomy. the switch has a normaly closed contact in it, so upon removal has to be bridged.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

this is a very common problem that the 6cyl had. the V8's never had the switch on them. most people nowdays just plug them up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Ah, awesome, I think mine may be leaking, but havent fully checked. Its leaving dead patches on the lawn at the moment. The only othr thing it could be, is oil from the rubber boot on the end of the rack. But that would mean it has oil in it, but it couldnt be under pressure, which makes me think its not meant to have oil in it :? Does anyone know what the go is? As mine have oil in them

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i had a simialr prob to you where my P/S pressure switch had died and was leaking oil into where you said. i took me around 30 mins under the car with a high pressure hose to get all the crappy oil out of there. But a good thing to come out the P/S pressure switch dying was that at least it flushed out the power sterring fluid quite well :lol:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

voids wrote:
The things been more trouble then its worth i'll see how it goes. the ecu also needs to see an imput from the switch to put the car into a highway lean mode to improve ecconomy. the switch has a normaly closed contact in it, so upon removal has to be bridged.


CHRIST ALMIGHTY I WISH I KNEW THIS EARLIER LOL!!!

Was giving me surging idle issues that were fixed when unplugged, hopefully if your right and if I bridge it I'll get better fuel economy!

(me runs off to bridge unplugged switch thingy)

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:11 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4

Joined: 15th Sep 2010

Ride: EB gli wagon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ricrat wrote:
Yeah, mine crapped itself,not leaking-just not working. What it's for is to tell the ECU to boost the revs when the motor is under load at idle speeds - when parking on full lock whith air con on etc. You may have idle or stalling problems without it.
Rick


wow that explains alot... mine just recently started leaking and i noticed it stalled a couple times when putting it into gear or if the ac is on, i was worried there mightve been a serious problem but hopefully once i put the new switch in it'll be running good again... :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names