Fordmods Logo

Problem with Idle and ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Problem with Idle and ECU
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: Falconel

Location: Yeppoon
QLD, Australia

Hi,
I have a slight problem with the idle in my car, talked to a guy from Ford and he tells me that it needs to go onto the ECU machine. If I set the distributor with the top dead centre marks on the harmonic balancer and she runs rough as guts. Sometimes especally when top dead centre is set it backfires and splutters :( . Any ideas will help :) . If there is a way of reseting the ECU on a EL GLi Falcon can you please tell me, I have tried with disconnect the battery but no change. Also has possible Oxygen Sensor on the Exhaust gone.

Thanx All
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 11:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 310

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF GliXR

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

disconnect the battery and leave it for a few minutes. then drive granny it around for a while with the air con on and off. it's gotta relearn all it's mixtures before anything will change. but if that doesn't work then it's something else.

 

_________________

\m/

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

You need to enable the engine diagnostic mode before you start playing with the timing, or else you cannot be sure what the total advance will be... have a search around here as its been discussed a few times.... sounds like it may have too much advance.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: Falconel

Location: Yeppoon
QLD, Australia

I'll give them a go and have s search to get the car into engine dianositics, if i cant ill reply up for someone to tell me.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

There was another way of resetting it and resetting your idle.. Jase knows.. if he reads this he might reply lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:22 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: Falconel

Location: Yeppoon
QLD, Australia

Can't seam to find it, so if anyone can help, please
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:02 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names