Fordmods Logo

Quick Question 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Quick Question
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 190

Joined: 1st Nov 2009

Ride: AU Mont 2000

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Quick question:

I need to go on a 3 hour drive to the country

Do I put the automatic transmission in Normal mode or Economy mode?

To minimise wear and tear?

To save fuel?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 248

Joined: 4th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AUIII

Location: COONABARABRAN
NSW, Australia

Economy :wink: Just like the switch says.

MITCHY

 

_________________

AUIII, PACEY 4499's, MAGNIFLOW CAT, 2.5" ZORST, 17X8" AUII XR RIMS....otherwise all factory!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

you start by giving someone else the keys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

cczfairmont wrote:
Quick question:

I need to go on a 3 hour drive to the country

Do I put the automatic transmission in Normal mode or Economy mode?

To minimise wear and tear?

To save fuel?


I wouldn't be worried about the transmission mode. Before doing a short 3hr drive check your coolant & oil level, spare tyre etc. Over 300km you would be lucky too see a difference between the two modes...

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 190

Joined: 1st Nov 2009

Ride: AU Mont 2000

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

thanks guys

the coolant and oil is fine

i still got the leak with the auto trans
it's a minor leak at the extension housing seal

so hopefully it'll be alright
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Either way, at 100/110km/h the converter will be locked up, so fuel usage will be the same!

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 44

Joined: 25th Nov 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon GLi sedan

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

"getting sideways", at what speed (or revs) does the converter lock up? Just an aside, I thought economy/power modes were controlled/managed by the computer changing the shift pattern/points. ??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

depends weather its on econ or normal. also depends on how much your using your right foot..

econ will change sooner then normal..

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:08 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 248

Joined: 4th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AUIII

Location: COONABARABRAN
NSW, Australia

67RCE wrote:
Either way, at 100/110km/h the converter will be locked up, so fuel usage will be the same!


Are you sure about this!
I would have a rethink about what you just wrote buddy.
I have an AU S3 I6. My engine revs some what less at a 100 / 110kph with the AUTO in ECO than in PWR.
It may only be a 100 or 200 rpm i cant remember exactly but it is very noticeable. And over a long trip, i can only assume will ad up a dollar or two in fuel saving by having in ECO mode.
Yes i know it is not alot but it counts.

MITCHY

 

_________________

AUIII, PACEY 4499's, MAGNIFLOW CAT, 2.5" ZORST, 17X8" AUII XR RIMS....otherwise all factory!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

if your doing 1500rpm at 100km/h theirs something wrong with your speedo.

DARTHVADER your mistaken, if that is so then theirs something wrong with your car. if you were still in third at 100km/h you would be revving over 2500rpm,
you realize if anything the torque converter locks up earlier in normal mode compared to econ, and when in econ mode its less happy to down gear, making normal mode more economical when cruising..
either way theirs a wombats piss difference between the two modes if driving mormally

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:39 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 83

Joined: 13th Dec 2009

Ride: au II ute, 63' xl falcon ute

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

4dlvr wrote:
if your doing 1500rpm at 100km/h theirs something wrong with your speedo.



not trying to be a pain, but my ED sits just over 1500rpm at 100 in 4th, just over 2200 in 3rd..
and around 4000 in 2nd :twisted:
the speedo is fine too

 

_________________

au II ute, cam, mild porting/xr6 head, headers and zorst

63' xl falcon ute, engineered 302w, cam, heads, straight gas, built c4, xp disc brake front, lotsa fun (:

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

thatrandykid wrote:
4dlvr wrote:
if your doing 1500rpm at 100km/h theirs something wrong with your speedo.



not trying to be a pain, but my ED sits just over 1500rpm at 100 in 4th, just over 2200 in 3rd..
and around 4000 in 2nd :twisted:
the speedo is fine too


no way is your speedo correct if that is the case. With a 3.08 diff, around 1850rpm@100 in top with the converter locked.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

67RCE wrote:
thatrandykid wrote:
4dlvr wrote:
if your doing 1500rpm at 100km/h theirs something wrong with your speedo.



not trying to be a pain, but my ED sits just over 1500rpm at 100 in 4th, just over 2200 in 3rd..
and around 4000 in 2nd :twisted:
the speedo is fine too


no way is your speedo correct if that is the case. With a 3.08 diff, around 1850rpm@100 in top with the converter locked.


i second that, either its not a 3.08 (more like a 2.8x or whatever) or your getting s**t

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:36 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 248

Joined: 4th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AUIII

Location: COONABARABRAN
NSW, Australia

4dlvr wrote:
if your doing 1500rpm at 100km/h theirs something wrong with your speedo.

DARTHVADER your mistaken, if that is so then theirs something wrong with your car. if you were still in third at 100km/h you would be revving over 2500rpm,
you realize if anything the torque converter locks up earlier in normal mode compared to econ, and when in econ mode its less happy to down gear, making normal mode more economical when cruising..
either way theirs a wombats piss difference between the two modes if driving mormally


Hi again 4dlvr.
I think what i am trying to say is that the Auto shifts all the way to 4th....at say 100kmh i lift my foot and settle in for a trip. Now shortly after that a (a few seconds maybe more) so long as you hold your foot steady. The engine will drop a few revs again. Like i said earlier only a few maybe 100 or something. This i have been told is the Auto locking up the convertor, basically giving you an extra gear.
When you are in POWER mode this action does not happen. So your revs are up slightly.
Hope this helps you understand what i am trying to say.
I have spoken to a FORD mechanic on this he explained that way to me.
I have driven 2 other AU S3 I6 an the autos behave the same. I have no knowledge of the workings of earlier Autos in the falcons IE: E series sorry. But can find out.

MITCHY

 

_________________

AUIII, PACEY 4499's, MAGNIFLOW CAT, 2.5" ZORST, 17X8" AUII XR RIMS....otherwise all factory!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Question
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i understand what your saying DARTHVADER, with the btr 4speed, the torque converter lock up does not add any initial gears, buy locking up it is essentially holding on to fourth with out the torque converter being used, leaving no slip, a good way to understand how the torque converter works is bring the car to an initial stop, put the foot on the break and stall it up, it should stall to about 1800-2200rpm, let off the break and the revs wont drop. when in gears 1, 2 or 3 the torque converter is stalled up slightly when accelerating to make acceleration and shifts smoother, when in 4th the torque converter wont do this it is a fuel saving thing.. having the button on econ or normal will not have any effect on this..

the econ and normal switch is very basic, and does only what i said it does in the previous post.

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:40 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names