Fordmods Logo

recondition engine? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:17 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 372

Joined: 16th Oct 2007

Ride: EL sedan gli

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

Drakken wrote:
Thanks guys. Will probably go with the AU gasket as I have no plan of putting a turbo in. Work on the engine has halted for now until I get another spanner as I dropped the one I had somewhere in the engine. f@#k!!!


how you gonna get it out?

 

_________________

Stock EL Gli Sedan, Tickford 98 EL/AU Hybrid Swapped in after aux shaft failure due to a lazy mechanic who can't service cars and aftermarket distributor-of-death-made-in-china crap.
Soon to be: The FalcMont - Build thread: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=120773

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 21

Joined: 9th Mar 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Drakken wrote:
Thanks guys. Will probably go with the AU gasket as I have no plan of putting a turbo in. Work on the engine has halted for now until I get another spanner as I dropped the one I had somewhere in the engine. f@#k!!!



YOU NEVER KNOW IT COULD FIX ITS SELF LOL
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 5:14 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Don't get the AU Head gasket KIT. Some of the other small gaskets won't fit, so I was told. Get an ACL EF headgasket kit for about 150 or so and then go to Ford and get a genuine head gasket on its own.

Also make sure to get new head bolts as well, they are Torque To Yield (TTY) bolts. They stretch once when put in and if you remove it and put it back in a second time, the bolts are longer and weaker then new.

You can get the exhaust of the head made bigger if you want to fit the size of the primary exhaust pipes...but don't think you'd need to do that if you just have a normal cam. Will cost you a fair bit more then $200 to get that done though.

You can get an after market cam while you are at it. They will increase your performance by a fair bit and are not that hard to put in if you are doing the head. Don't go too crazy on the cam spec though, will run rough and chew through petrol if you are heavy footed.

Just some info.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:56 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 33

Joined: 13th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6 EF

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

phongus wrote:
Don't get the AU Head gasket KIT. Some of the other small gaskets won't fit, so I was told. Get an ACL EF headgasket kit for about 150 or so and then go to Ford and get a genuine head gasket on its own.

Also make sure to get new head bolts as well, they are Torque To Yield (TTY) bolts. They stretch once when put in and if you remove it and put it back in a second time, the bolts are longer and weaker then new.

You can get the exhaust of the head made bigger if you want to fit the size of the primary exhaust pipes...but don't think you'd need to do that if you just have a normal cam. Will cost you a fair bit more then $200 to get that done though.

You can get an after market cam while you are at it. They will increase your performance by a fair bit and are not that hard to put in if you are doing the head. Don't go too crazy on the cam spec though, will run rough and chew through petrol if you are heavy footed.

Just some info.

phong =P~


Thanks for that. I've read a bit about cams on here and from what I can gather is that theres on point getting a cam unless you change your ECU. Most people say they run ok but idol rough. With the head gasket, I just don't want it to crack again. I've been told the EF gaskets are pretty bad for that.

Image

See where the rag is stuffed into the side there. That's where the spanner went in. The rags look like a good idea now
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

was puting a head on a Toyota 1HZ diesel and I dropped my nikko pen down one of the oil drain holes, which is exactly the same size as the pen. I was marking the cyl head bolts as I done them up. They are XX Nm then +90, +90. The second +90 is hard, lucky I had a 1m long breaker bar.
It was OK, the guy wanted his oil level sensor fixed anyway.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Swalgerman and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names